We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Holiday inn Ambassador bridge is definitely a hotel that I place in my top 10 best Holiday Inn hotels.
Ideal location, a couple of kms from downtown Windsor, close to the Ambassador Bridge and shopping areas. After I checked out I realized that I got an Executive King bedroom instead of a regular king bedroom.

The room is located in the back side of the hotel,at the left end of the corridor (from the elevators) so no traffic noise, very quiet. Spacious, super clean, kitchenette with small fridge (a couple of dishes, cutlery and glasses would have been great, instead of empty cabinets and drawers).
The flat screen TV is located face to the couch, but a bit too far from the bed.
The room is divided by a wall in 2 areas, the living room side and the bedroom side. If you prefer watching TV from the bed, the TV is in the living room side so you need to turn it towards the bed and you can't displace it from the chest of drawers but it wasn't an issue for me.
The welcome was courteous and professional. All good !
No newspaper at the door in the morning but a pile of newspapers available for the guests at the exit of the elevators.

Overall, a very nice, comfortable and relaxing stay. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 729 is very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites. We are very proud of our hotel and the services that we offer! We appreciate your kind comments and would lalso like to thank you for your suggestions and posting the pictures. We have finally completed our renovation and are very pleased to offer the most updated product in the city.

On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team, thank you for your time and consideration and we look forward to having you stay with us in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
24
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good value.
Next to downtown Windsor
Next to Ambassador bridge to go to Detroit.
Large rooms. Well equipped including WiFi,
Try a room in the back, busy street with trucks going and leaving Detroit.
Clean
Nice lobby

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very conveniently located only 1.5 kilometers from the base of the Ambassador Bridge, only 8 short minutes from downtown, 0.5 kilometers from EC Row Expressway, and 11 kilometers from HIghway 401. We are a located in great suburban area, with a number local stores and restaurants within walking distance. We look forward to having you stay with us once again and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites (also called the Holiday Inn Ambassador Bridge) while in Windsor on business recently. The hotel is located on the main road that leads to the Ambassador Bridge that crosses the Detroit River, so access from either Canada or the US is very easy. This also places it close to Windsor's and Detroit's downtown areas, and the E.C. Row Expressway and Hwy 401.

The hotel has extensive free parking, and includes a restaurant, Grill 55. The front desk staff were great. Very friendly and helpful, and they got me checked in quickly.

The room was great - spacious, clean and in good condition. The room included a sitting area and two large flat panel TV's, one in the sitting area and one in the sleeping area. The room also included a small bar fridge. The queen-size bed was very comfortable, and the linens were high thread count and very soft. The bed came with a duvet and a selection of firm and soft pillows. Very nice.

The sitting area had a couch (sofa) that I assume included a pull-out bed. I didn't check this. There was also an armchair and a coffee table. All were clean and in good condition.

The housekeeping services were excellent.

The hotel also includes meeting rooms, including two unique amphitheater-style rooms. I didn't use these facilities, but I did look at them for a future event. The meeting rooms are undergoing renovation and will be very nice when completed.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room on the back of the hotel so that traffic noise from Huron Church Road is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you very much for your favorable comments. We use this outlet to praise our staff for a job well done or as a tool to re-train in areas that need assistance. It's wonderful to share a "job well done" comment!

We look forward to a great partnership with you and your company and look forward to hearing from you in the very near future.

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a great Windsor Hotel. It was very clean with a nice pool and large hot tub. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. I would like to see black out curtains in the room so you aren't awakeas soon as the sun comes up.
The only disadvantage about this hotel is it is not located downtown. If you are going to the casino or the downtown core it is a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel and I will be sure to share this information with the staff. All of our guestrooms are normally equipped with blackout curtains, however, I do apologize for this inconvenience during your stay. We will certainly investigate this and will rectify immediately.

Once again, thank you for your time and consideration, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a conference package from the Ontario Archaeological Society. The accomodations were very reasonable, clean, and comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette, sofa, louge chair, and a king sized bed, as well as a balcony, and was at the back of the building and very quiet. It is easy to find from the 401. The onsite restaurant offered delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner options with a varied, interesting, affordable menu. Tim Hortons was also next door, and only a 5 minute walk from our room. A very short drive away was a Wendy's, a Pizza Hut, a thai restaurant and the liquor store. However, if you are looking for a downtown hotel, this is not the place, although it is only approx. a 10 minute drive to the downtown core. This hotel is on the road which leads directly to the bridge to Detroit. A big plus of this hotel was also its proximity to the outlet mall and large Devonshire Mall. Coming from a small town where we don't have any large malls, this was especially good for the times when my husband was at the conference sessions I had chosen not to attend. I would highly recommend this location for a conference. The session rooms were more than adequate and the food arrangements for the conference were exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I will share your comments will our entire staff as we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us during the conference. I look forwardt having the opportunity to host this prestigious event again in the future. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were greated with less than a warm welcome. I was harassed over the room rate and room type I booked online. Not my first time at the rodeo but they made matters worse with the attitude.
The stay ended with a terrible breakfast in the newly renovated restaurant. The rooms need a reno

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Check in was a mess. Over half an hour. They did have complementary popcorn in the lobby, but reserved quantities to a handful. They did not have coffee. If you are coming from a distance and are tired and hungry this isn't the ideal check in. Complimentary coffee is only offered on the morning...but of course they forgot to mention that it is only on weekdays.

Out room had only shampoo. We could not get conditioner. It was not their policy????? They said they offer only shampoo and mouthwash. We didn't get the mouthwash either.

The pool ran out of towels. Staff was rude when I requested them. We had to wait for housekeeping to bring them and were told they could not leave the pool area. Both the pool and hot tub were freezing cold.

I would choose another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are extremely sorry that you were disappointed in your stay! When we have busy team weekends, we ensure that our front desk is staffed accordingly. When there is an entire team or two checking in at once, it can delay the check in process at any hotel, and our goal is provide an expedient and proper check in for all of our guests. We have gotten great comments regarding the popcorn in the past as this us a unique offering from our hotel. We do not limit anyone's intake and all guests are welcome to come down as often as possible to enjoy this snack. We do have a full service restaurant onsite, and a Tim Hortons in our parking lot, which provides accessibility for coffee and other refreshments for all of our guests. We do provide a coffee and tea service during the week until 9:00 a.m - Monday - Friday. For our weekend clients we provide the popcorn service upon check in, complimentary hospitality rooms for those teams that require them, a team table in the front lobby and other amenities that are not offered to our corporate clients during the week.

Both the housekeeping and maintenence departments have been made aware of your experience regarding the shampoo/ conditioner in your guestroom, the towels in the pool area and the temperature in both the pool and the hot tub. Our goal is to make sure our guests are happy and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with these brand standards.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and please know that all of the necessary folllow up will be done with the management team to correct these oversights. Once again, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn and Suites is the only full service property on Huron Church Road and is located approximately six kilometers from the vibrant downtown Windsor. Our property has a restaurant onsite offering breakfast, lunch and dinner along with room service 7 days a week. Currently our hotel has completed the first phase of our 5 million dollar renovation and will be completed in its entirety by November 2011. Our fresh, updated and inviting lobby welcomes you upon your arrival. Our main floor meeting rooms have been updated in addition to 3 of our 7 guestrooms floors. The remaining guestroom floors and the lower lobby renovations will be starting in July giving us the newest and most updated product to offer our guests. Our onsite restaurant is currently undergoing a full renovation which will be completed in August 2011 and we will then welcome “Grill 55” to our family! We continue to offer breakfast, lunch and dinner from our Piccadilly Pub during the renovations so our guests will not notice any disruptions with our restaurant operations. Our large indoor saltwater pool is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the day and our newly renovated fitness room is tucked in behind the pool area with very well maintained equipment! Additionally your guestroom rate includes complimentary parking, high speed wireless internet, local and 1 800 calls and a business kiosk in the lobby available 24/7 for those wishing to stay connected! With 214 specious rooms for all of you travelling needs we welcome you to the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor Ambassador Bridge – STAY YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.