We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent Service Levels and Policies - Terrible Night Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent Service Levels and Policies - Terrible Night Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having stayed at this location numerous times, I am left with two very different views on the quality of service. On a few occasions, I found the front desk staff helpful, friendly and professional. However, on more occasions I found the front desk staff surly, uninformed of the hotel's policies (e.g. I had to twice explain why I was asking for the kids eat free coupons which I believe is a company policy) and almost indifferent to customer service. If you are dealing with the evening staff at the front desk - good luck to you. I have never encountered such indifference bordering on downright rudeness at a decent chain hotel. After having stayed at the same location numerous times, I was interrogated about my request for a kids eat free coupon in an unprofessional manner. Basic service standards (their next smile will be their first - it seems like you are somehow inconveniencing their night by showing up) at night were not even close to being met and I was made to feel unwelcome in a hotel that I have given a lot of business to. I would highly recommend that alternate hotels be considered for a stay in Windsor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the negative experience you had during you recent stay at our hotel. Our commitment and dedication to excellent guest service is something we strive to demonstrate in our guest’s expectations every day, and to hear of your experience, was truly disappointing to us. This is not typical of our property as we have won many awards for our "service". Please be assured that your comments will be used as a traiing tool to reiterate the expectations of our front desk associates. We hope that when you visit Windsor again, you give our property another opportunity to redeem ourselves. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    99
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
59
32
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding. No complaints to speak of as everything was up to standards as expected at holiday in. It was clean,bed were comfortable and the adjacent restaurant was decently valued as well. Location was what we needed and close to Ambassador Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge while attending your friends wedding! Our hotel is in a prime location for those that need quick access to the Ambassador Bridge and to Hwy 401. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with the king size executive suite. The hotel staff were very attentive and the room attendants fantastic. The bed was extremely comfortable and I wish I had a bathroom like this one in my home. The room was very private, quiet and had a fantastic view of the city and Detroit Skyline. Easy to find and close to everything. The hotel doesn't include breakfast but does have an extremely Good restaurant attached. The indoor pool, hot tub and gym were kept very clean. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We know that you have a number of accommodation choices when traveling to Windsor, and we are very pleased that you chose to stay with us!
Our 5 million dollar renovation offers the most refreshed product in the city and we look forward to having you stay with us once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

stayed 7days at this hotel.Housekeeping was very friendly,front desk was a great help if you dont know much about Windsor. Room that i stayed in was very clean, bed was comfy, pillows good. I would love to come back and stay at this Holiday Inn & Suites in windsor again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback and thank you for choosing our hotel! We have a wonderful housekeeping team on property and they take great care of our hotel and our guests. Thank you for staying with us and for visiting Windsor! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My son and I stayed for 1 night for a soccer tournament in Windsor. We got the King Executive room. While my son was out galavanting with his soccer mates I was tucked into a gloriously well made bed that lured me to sleep INSTANTLY! I was amazed at how comfortable the bed was, I could not keep my eyes open! The room was clean, spacious, had a kitchenette, King sized bed plus a double pullout couch. My son had a ball swimming with his friends in the hotel pool and hanging out in the sauna. The hotel provided a perfect team building spot for the team. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Are bedding packages are "wonderful" aren't they? The entire Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge team would love to welcome you back to our great hotel. Please let us know when you are coming back! Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent 2 nights in July with baseball team. Hotel is really nice, clean, great location. Hotel staff were patient with the kids and gave them a room to hang out in. The pool was great, kids spent a ton of time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good afternoon! Thank you for your very kind words! We love our sports teams and do our utmost to make sure that everyone leaves having a great experience. Please contact us the next time you are visiting Windsor. We would love to have you stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently spent 1 night at the Holiday Inn in Windsor. We had a winning Priceline bid and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Check in was easy, the lobby nice,and the rooms clean and updated.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and I have shared your feedback with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.