We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My son and I stayed for 1 night for a soccer tournament in Windsor. We got the King Executive room. While my son was out galavanting with his soccer mates I was tucked into a gloriously well made bed that lured me to sleep INSTANTLY! I was amazed at how comfortable the bed was, I could not keep my eyes open! The room was clean, spacious, had a kitchenette, King sized bed plus a double pullout couch. My son had a ball swimming with his friends in the hotel pool and hanging out in the sauna. The hotel provided a perfect team building spot for the team. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Are bedding packages are "wonderful" aren't they? The entire Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge team would love to welcome you back to our great hotel. Please let us know when you are coming back! Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    107
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
36
10
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooretown
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Spent 2 nights in July with baseball team. Hotel is really nice, clean, great location. Hotel staff were patient with the kids and gave them a room to hang out in. The pool was great, kids spent a ton of time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Good afternoon! Thank you for your very kind words! We love our sports teams and do our utmost to make sure that everyone leaves having a great experience. Please contact us the next time you are visiting Windsor. We would love to have you stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recently spent 1 night at the Holiday Inn in Windsor. We had a winning Priceline bid and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Check in was easy, the lobby nice,and the rooms clean and updated.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and I have shared your feedback with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

-Pool and Hot tub whirlpool are waiting for parts - only 2 or 4 elements heating them so COLD! Tried to warm up in the sauna but...the Sauna is also not working! Big disappointment for kids NO POOL!
-"Kids eat free" is at the discretion of the hotel (according to customer service 1-800-621-0555) because it is a privately owned hotel but we didn't find out until AFTER we ate and this is AFTER I inquired at the front desk where to go to find the kids eat free, AND double-checked at the hostess station that we were at the right restaurant, Grill 55, AND asking the waitress what I needed to order for the kids to eat free! We waited 2 hours for food and then at bill time we were asked for a kids eat free coupon and only then were we told we didn't qualify - AFTER we already ate! (Regret I didn't go to the Hamptons across the street where a hot breakfast is included!)
-Our bathroom did not have a bathroom fan for our 4 guests and worse the toilet is so low with the bowl water very high so that the girls in our group would get wet hands trying to wipe and the boys complained their private parts would soak in the toilet water while trying to go! GROSS!
-One elevator was being used to move things so only 2 were working for most of weekend.
-Numerous calls to customer service only resulted in "I'm Sorry"...everyone is sorry I was "led to believe" that kids eat free! So don't be misled!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and use these as a training opportunity or to provide positive feedback to our associates.

We apologize for the mechanical challenges that you experienced during your stay and the hotel has addressed and repaired said areas.

The brand standard at any Holiday Inn property dictates that kids eat free with a paying adult when paying regular rates. This offering does not apply to discounted "group bookings" unless the group/team has arranged this with the restaurant PRIOR to the group arrival.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Clean, Comfortable And Conveniently Located On The MaIn Street

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge.

We are in the finishing stages of our major renovation, however we are constantly updating and refreshing all areas to keep our hotel looking great!

Like all hotels, our pricing is based on our occupancy levels, so there will always be fluctuations in our rates. Our upgraded Junior King Suites are lovely rooms and are always in very high demand!

Grill 55 has received "rave" reviews from our guests and they take a great deal of pride in their culinary creativity. The menu items change frequently in order to keep things updated and seasonal.

As you had mentioned, we are ideally located, very close to the Ambassador Bridge, the University of Windsor, St. Clair College and Hwy 401!

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a good quality hotel that provides some nice amenities, like a larger-than-average indoor pool, and a whirlpool (out of service when I visited, however).
On a crowded weekend with lots of families, one elevator was also out of service the whole time, making it a little difficult to come and go easily.
Reservations system was not running perfectly, although the hotel did have accurate information when I checked in. The toll-free res system showed this entire property fully booked, which was definitely not correct.
Onsite restaurant, Grill 55, needs to find its feet: the menu is not going to satisfy many room service customers, and the eat-in trade may find it overpriced, given the main entrees, which are basically elevated pub food.
The hotel's proximity to the Ambassador Bridge/Detroit is a plus, but the new management will have to complete their renovations and upgrades before they'll be able to maximize the hotel's potential.
A word on prices: they are all over the map at this location. Do not accept the first rate they offer, and insist on discounts if you are staying more than two nights. Always request a king corner suite if you like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Request a king-corner suite if you want the quietest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites!

We are currently in the finishing stages of our 5 million dollar renovation, however we are continually updating our product to keep our hotel fresh. Like all hotels, our rates are based on our occupancy levels, so there will be fluctuation in our rates. We are competitively priced for our market and continually adjust when necessary, I'm glad that you enjoyed our upgraded Junior King Suites. This room type is always in very high demand!

I do apologize about the one elevator being inoperable. The elevator company was called immediately, however they had to order the part that was required, which caused a delay in getting it fixed.

Grill 55 has received many positive comments since opening and certainly take all of our guests comments into consideration. This restaurant takes great pride in their culinary creativitiy and frequently change the items on the menu to keep things fresh and new

As you mentioned, our location is ideal as we are located very close to the Ambassador Bridge, the University of Windsor, St. Clair College and Hwy 401!

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while attending a convention in the city, so the hotel was booked to the max, but the staff were friendly and accommodating even though I am sure they were run off their feet. Our room was great, King Suite. Nice to have the separated sitting area, and microwave/sink/fridge in room - very convenient with small children. Every day the maid service was wonderful - room always clean. Hotel is close to everything and it is nice to have a Tim Horton's so close. Just a few suggestions: More luggage carts, when it is booked to the max they are in high demand. Also, the free wifi, you had to log in every time you wanted to use it - most hotels I have been at the wifi, you just sign in once and you are connected for the remainder of your stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay during this very busy weekend. We also appreciate your comments regarding the luggage carts and we are currently awaiting delivery of more carts, so we definitely recognize the need!

The high speed wireless is password protected to ensure that only our guests have access to the internet.

On behalf of our entire management team, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.