We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly - what more could you ask for???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly - what more could you ask for???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel while attending a convention in the city, so the hotel was booked to the max, but the staff were friendly and accommodating even though I am sure they were run off their feet. Our room was great, King Suite. Nice to have the separated sitting area, and microwave/sink/fridge in room - very convenient with small children. Every day the maid service was wonderful - room always clean. Hotel is close to everything and it is nice to have a Tim Horton's so close. Just a few suggestions: More luggage carts, when it is booked to the max they are in high demand. Also, the free wifi, you had to log in every time you wanted to use it - most hotels I have been at the wifi, you just sign in once and you are connected for the remainder of your stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay during this very busy weekend. We also appreciate your comments regarding the luggage carts and we are currently awaiting delivery of more carts, so we definitely recognize the need!

The high speed wireless is password protected to ensure that only our guests have access to the internet.

On behalf of our entire management team, thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
37
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at both this property and the similar Hampton across the street. The Hampton is the newer building (the rooms in this Holiday Inn, while clean and well kept, could probably use a bit of updating) but aside from that, we prefer he Holiday Inn.

The management / employees at this hotel are friendlier and more competent (the Hampton seems like it's run by 1 or 2 adults and a bunch of teenagers who are completely new to the hotel business), the pool and the common areas at the Holiday Inn are nicer and generally this property has more of a "high end feel".

Both properties also bill themselves as "pet friendly", but while we've never had an issue here, if your dog starts barking for even a little bit, the staff at the Hampton will snarl at you. This is a bit ironic, since they seem to have time to do that, but not so much to accommodate guest requests / concerns).

Also noteworthy is that each bathtub at the Holiday Inn seems to have a Jacuzzi feature (even in a "basic" room) ... nice.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room at the back of the hotel facing AWAY from noisy Huron Church Road. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge. We appreciate your busness and hope that when you are traveling to our area in the future that you will choose to stay with us again. We have a great team at the hotel, with a number of long serviing associates ready to assist our guests at anytime. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Was here for a 2 night weekend, hotel was booked solid. Indoor pool was decent size (a bit larger than most hotels) and fitness area was adequate.

We had a king executive room which is more like a suite. Mike and small fridge with sink area very convenient. Room was spacious and had a semi-private sitting area where there was a queen pull-out sofabed. Washroom was not small at all - you won't feel claustrophobic. Fixtures and furnishings gave an upscale feel. Bed was comfy and place was relatively clean.

Restaurant onsite appears to have opened recently. It's too bad that there isn't complimentary breakfast included in your stay as Grill 55 can be a bit pricey for any meal, especially when there are quite a few restaurants within a 15 minute drive and a 10 minute walk.

For a nice, quick breakfast Tim Hortons is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You can also do lunch here too but if it's burgers you want, the Dairy Queen is a 5 minute walk away and there's a Wendy's a 10 minute walk away. Right next to the Wendy's is Pho Red Mango if you want a mix of Vietnamese and Chinese fare. About a 15 minute away is Franco's, a nice Italian restaurant with good sized entrees.

This hotel is close to the bridge and is called "Holiday Inn Ambassador Bridge". Convenient location, close to restaurants, the highway and malls (12-15 minute drive to Devonshire Mall, Windsor Crossing).

Room Tip: King exec room lots of space for group of 4; found at end of hallway each floor 2-8; ask for one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor! We certainly appreciate your feedback and the great comments that you shared regarding our hotel. "Grill 55" is our new restaurant onsite and offers a unique and extensive menu! The breakfast pricing ranges from $ 5.95 - $ 13.95, Lunch ranges from $ 8.00 to $26.00 and Dinner entrees are priced between $12.00 - $29.00 per person. The food is fantastic and the ambiance is very nice as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and close to many restaurants. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have great associates that work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are a very good size. The bathroom has a tub w/ jets and a shower head. There is a lack of power outlets next to the bed and as a traveler, it is convenient to have your phone charging close by. There should be more hangers on the hanger rack. Other than those small things, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. During your next visit if you find that there aren't enough hangers, please feel free to contact our front desk and we would be happy to have more delivered to your guestroom.

Thanks and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at the holiday Inn in the King 2 room Suite 601. The layout of the suite was very comfortable. the main drawback was the fact the the 2 doors to the suite were on main hallways. The livingroom door was directly across from the elevator. The constant dinging of the elevator and conversations at all hours was very disturbing. When you pay a premium price for a premiium room you hope for a little peace and quiet. Lovely room bad location.

Room Tip: Ask where it is in relation to the elevator before taking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms. The particular room that you stayed in is close to the elevators, however, we have a number of different room types to offer you for your next visit to Windsor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very pleasant staff, always a smiling face when entering this clean, recently upgraded facility.
Stayed here numerous times on business and now I'm here with the family for a varsity soccer event, and on a Saturday instead of a weekday - should it make a difference? Probably not.
Being a Priority Club Platinum member gets you perks, like room upgrades. We got a nice corner room on one of the upper levels...hmmm, is this a good idea. Typically it doesn't make a difference but for the most part it keeps you away from a lot of traffic.
Well we soon found out that because its that much further from an exit, cigarette smokers were getting their fill inside the emergency exit stairwell, right beside our room and hall way leading to it. When the exhaust fan in our bathroom was turned on (for other reasons) the cigarette smoke came right in under our door, basically giving us the aroma of a closed down 80's disco club. Not good for one with sensitive sinuses. Everyone signs at "check in" not to smoke in the rooms, but where does that get you when they smoke in the hallways and stairwells?
Then it was the swimming pool - folks had taken the diaper off their infant and put him right into the pool. Not the hotel's fault but on the upside they were quick to react and get a correct swimming diaper for the toddler. I wasn't going in there after all that took place - no way!
Don't let me scare you away from this fine establishment, we just ran into some inconsiderate folks who don't have respect for their fellow travelers. Our bad luck weekend!

Pointers for Management - have your patrons clearly sign a waiver that there will be no smoking whatsoever anywhere in your smoke free hotel and not just the rooms themselves. And the toddlers in the pool... well you can figure that one out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments regarding our staff and hotel! As we have recently converted our hotel to be 100% non smoking, we will defintiely review your suggestions about the waiver. It is a great suggestion!

Our staff is well trained, and take issues such as the one that you experienced in the pool very seriously. Their quick reaction to resolve the incident is a result of the continual training programs that our associates participate in.

Once again, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
City Centre
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#4 of 34 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.