We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Team Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

stayed here with my sons Novice travel hockey team for OMHA playdowns at the WFCU Centre. Property appears to have gone through a complete renovation over the last year or two. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Flat screens and wi-fi. Relaxing beds with plenty of pillows. Modern furnishings and appointments. Large pool area with hot tub provided opportunity for kids to expend some energy before bed. Well stocked exercise room adjacent to pool. Front desk and hotel staff were very accomodating and were happy to service us a team. I noticed many Ontario University teams riding the elevators with our kids (Lakehead Mens Basketball, McMaster Mens Volleyball, Queens Womens Hockey, McMaster Womens Volleyball)

The staff helped facilitate a team dinner in one of their community rooms in the lower level of the hotel. Kids were allowed to play ministicks and hotel staff actually rolled in a TV in in order that they could watch the NHL All Star Skills Challenge together. This gave the parents some time to relax together in a comfortable space. This was such a refreshing change from having to jam into one or two rooms or congregate in a hallway somewhere. Much more sensible for us and the other guests in the hotel. This will not be forgotten in the future....as mentioned our kids are Novice (age 8) and will be playing and travelling together for the next 8 years or more. We will be staying at this hotel next time we are in Windsor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We hope to see you again sometime soon with the rest of your team! We try and make all of our teams feel at home while staying us and any little things we can do to help we will, such as the team rooms. Once again thank you for the feedback and we hope that we can be your accommodation partner down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    79
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
24
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
271 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Ugliest interiors I’ve ever seen, poor executive suites, no newspaper, no extra amenities whatsover for executive travel, 24-hour restaurant – 4/10

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
A lot has changed at our property since February of 2011. Our property is in the last phase of completing our major renovation. With new modern decor throughout the hotel, main and lower lobbies all of the guest rooms have been newly renovated. Our restaurant has undergone a major renovation as well, modern decor, new ownership, new menu and a completely new feel. Please feel free to give us another try when you are back in Windsor, you are sure that you will be pleasantly surprised with all of the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a fantastic find in Windsor. The rooms were new, well decorated, very comfortable and very very clean.

The Front desk and all the staff I encountered were ready to help and made me feel like they were happy I was there.

The hotel is a good location for my purposes. I was able to do my business, we well as take a short trip to the Casino and even some of the nightlife.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel; my new spot in Windsor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We are very happy when new guest discover our property, and especially when they decide that they will be back. We take great pride in having one of the best teams in the city and we want our guest to feel that as well, and from the sound of it, it appears that we have succeeded. Hope to see you soon back at our property and once again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites as your accommodation partner while in Windsor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed at several different hotels while in Windsor, over the last few years. This property has been reliably consistent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hi and Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how we did during your stay. We appreciate the kind words and the repeat business. We will continue to improve in the New Year and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon. Once again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites as your accommodation partner while in Windsor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We found this hotel to be clean, well maintained and suited our needs very well. Our 2 grandchildren were in town, so they came over a couple times and we all enjoyed the salt water pool. Friendly staff, though we didnt have any special needs, so didnt interact a lot with them. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Hi and Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how we did during your stay.
We appreciate the comments and the feedback, without the feedback it would be hard to see how we are doing. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

really like this hotel nice, clean, comfortable.
friendly staff
large free parking

the lobby is warm and welcoming
with cozy seating area at the reception while waiting cab or husband freezing outside to get the car

the location is convenient there is fast foods ( Wendy,pizza huts, taco bell,KFC,subway) coffee shops (Tim Horton's, Starbucks), restaurant (Swiss chalet) shops ( shoppers, zellers, rexale) at walking distance including the hotel's restaurant (grill 55)

free WiFi in rooms need to ask code at the check in (2 computers in self service at the lobby)

Room Tip: some rooms have been renovated with decor just ask to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Hi and thank you for the review!
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us. We are very proud of the changes that we have made so far, and more changes to come. We are constantly working on bettering our service, be it with our staff or the property in general. Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

this adventure began when i checked in and asked for a feather pillow. the person at the front dest said that all the rooms had feather pillows. not true. then i told her i needed a room which would not involve a lot of walking as i am disabled. the room was on the second floor far from the elevator and was dilapidated with a broken television. i called and this same woman at the front desk said that i requested this room. not true. she said that she put me on a lower floor since i could not walk. this is ridiculous since no one at this hotel uses the stairs.she told me that all the rooms were the same except that the televisions were newer in the other rooms. at this point i did not trust her and asked to go to another room. the new room was completely renovated including the bathroom.again another lie. it also took a long time to change rooms. i called the front desk and the desk manager yelled "be patient!" finally when we changed rooms we were so exhausted we tried to get some sleep. the problem is that although the room was renovated the ventilation did not work. it was on maximal cool setting; but the a/c would only go on occasionally. after everybody had been panting and sweating. we decided to leave and make a run for it since we had a long drive to make. i called the hotel the next day to complain and gave all the contact information.she told me that the ventilation was working correctly in the room. another lie. i was assured by this same desk manager that the i would be contacted by the general manager with a response. it never happened. another lie.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hi and Thank you for the response.
First of all I would like to thank you for your honest feedback regarding the service you received while visiting our property. It appears that we did not deliver the service you were expecting or the service standers that we set for our employees. I would like to personally apologies and let you know that if you are back in Windsor for another visit to please contact myself directly at the Hotel so that we can discuss the issue in full detail and show you why we are one of the best hotels in the Windsor Area. Please feel free to contact me directly at 519.966.1200 x 1017 and I will assist you going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn and Suites is the only full service property on Huron Church Road and is located approximately six kilometers from the vibrant downtown Windsor. Our property has a restaurant onsite offering breakfast, lunch and dinner along with room service 7 days a week. Currently our hotel has completed the first phase of our 5 million dollar renovation and will be completed in its entirety by November 2011. Our fresh, updated and inviting lobby welcomes you upon your arrival. Our main floor meeting rooms have been updated in addition to 3 of our 7 guestrooms floors. The remaining guestroom floors and the lower lobby renovations will be starting in July giving us the newest and most updated product to offer our guests. Our onsite restaurant is currently undergoing a full renovation which will be completed in August 2011 and we will then welcome “Grill 55” to our family! We continue to offer breakfast, lunch and dinner from our Piccadilly Pub during the renovations so our guests will not notice any disruptions with our restaurant operations. Our large indoor saltwater pool is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the day and our newly renovated fitness room is tucked in behind the pool area with very well maintained equipment! Additionally your guestroom rate includes complimentary parking, high speed wireless internet, local and 1 800 calls and a business kiosk in the lobby available 24/7 for those wishing to stay connected! With 214 specious rooms for all of you travelling needs we welcome you to the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor Ambassador Bridge – STAY YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.