We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic date place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook's Shop Restaurant

The Cook's Shop Restaurant
683 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N9A 4J4, Canada
519-254-3377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 640 restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $8 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great romantic date place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's been many years since I've been here. I wasn't disappointed. This is a great, romantic place for a date night. It's on Oullette Ave., the main drag in Windsor, a few blocks from downtown. (Park behind the building and walk through a narrow space to the front door.) It's in the lower level of an old brownstone-style town house. The softly lighted grotto-like atmosphere just drips with romance, inviting intimate talk over wine. The air is full of garlic and wonderful aromas and whispered conversations. We hadn't made reservations but the waiter told us they'd have room in a while, so we wandered around and found a pub nearby to fill the time. (There isn't a bar to sit in the restaurant.) They serve a delicious hot garlic and parmesan bread. They are well known for their salad, served in a large stainless steel bowl, where you help yourselves to as much salad as you care to eat. The house salad is similar to a caesar, with large leves of romaine lettuce, but with a modified, sweeter dressing. Delicious. We had an appetizer and shared an entree. The food was OK, not great, way too heavy on the aromatics. The waiter made several blunders, then bought us more wine. So, by this time, who cares? We were in a great mood. Worth the trip south to Canada from the good ol' U.S., over the bridge or through the tunnel, for the evening. Or, perhaps you'll end up spending the night in Windsor. It's that romantic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    87
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food Snob Approved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My significant other and I are avid cooks, so eating out for us must be an amazing experience the Cook's Shop offers it all, a romantic setting, wonderful staff, great wine list, and amazing food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“MOST Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here 2x in the last month that we visited Windsor. The restaurant service was fabulous. The food was amazing, the ambience was perfect and will definitely eat here again and highly recommend to anyone that would like some fine Italian cuisine. Make reservations well in advance as this restaurant is very popular

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love this place, it always smells so darn good!!! The food is outstanding, I recommend the lamb, but everything is really good. The salad, made at the table is fresh and generous, and the coffee is kept hot on a warmer on the table. A visit from the owner, who is always dressed like the perfect gentleman he is, is a welcome treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you enjoy good Italian food, attentive service, a warm atmosphere and friendly prices; then this is one place for you in Windsor. Be warned: portions are generous and you need to bring a big appetite! Four of us had salads, a variety of pastas and meats, coffee and desert. Wonderful!
One tip: parking is around the back, and the front entrance is at a lower level and hard to spot from the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook's Shop Restaurant also viewed

Been to The Cook's Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cook's Shop Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.