We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Reasonable - Can't go wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
University Place
Save
You added University Place to your Saves list
3140 Peter Street, Windsor, Ontario N9C 1H3, Canada (Sandwich)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Basic and Reasonable - Can't go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night because we were attending a wedding in Windsor.
Based on the TA reviews we booked and stayed at the Executive Suite 101.
The location seems a bit scary when driving to the residence, but inside it's clean and has everything you would need for an overnight accommodation.
They provide towels when checking in, but other than that there are no other amenities. Bring your own hand soap for the washroom.
all in all, very secure with key access at each entry.
I would rebook if we happen to be in that area again.
Don't expect the Ritz ;)

Room Tip: The executive rooms have a private bathroom Bring your own soap for the washroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After my second stay at University Place for a short visit to Windsor, Ontario, I can say that this place is fantastic. If you are looking for a place that is affordable, comfortable, safe, and LGBTQIA friendly, then definitely book your stay here for summer visits to Windsor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was on a short trip to Windsor to look at real estate in the area and while I didn't buy anything during my trip I can say for certainty that this place is great value for your money. It's primary use is as a student residence. Which makes sense considering how close it is to the U. of Windsor. If it were full of loud students then maybe it won't work for you during the school year, but the rest of summer, I'd stay here if you want a nice place in a good location. The staff were friendly, helpful and good for conversation. I had a room on the first floor which was convenient. Most rooms do share a washroom with the room beside it, otherwise it's not a big deal. The other hotels in the area are about $100 more per night, so if you need your own washroom you'll have to pay up. The kitchen was closed and their are no restaurants near by, but I had a car (free parking!) so it was not a big deal.

If you want to save time and money stay here, plan and simple. It's excellent value for your money, but a no frills place (they do give you towels though!) If you need luxury, then go to Caesars and pay $300 per night. Simple as that.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the ground floor. May not always be available, but it never hurts to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a nine night stay at University Place and will return when next visiting Windsor. University Place is clean, quiet, secure and close to public transit. The room was very comfortable and the staff were both courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best place to stay in windsor, prices are great and the place is great, I stayed there for a month during the summer and everything was perfect, I didn't have any problem during my stay, the place is clean, safe and nice. Also close to university and river side.

Ahmad

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of months in summer time and it is an excellent place to stay. Its right by UWindsor, close to the riverfront and rooms are great, for students or for short stays. Excellent desk, bed, flat screen TV, AC, fridge in room and the staff is super helpful. Its quiet as well when you want to get some work done. Internet speed was perfectly fine, never had a problem. Laundry is on every floor and there is a shared kitchen on every floor as well. They have multiple types of rooms, from private to shared bathroom, that sorta thing. For short stay in Windsor for business, I'd probably go back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in a single with shared bathroom for $39/night. This is the cheapest I could find in Windsor.

The place was convenient to local pubs and grocery stores on Sandwich St. The room was like any dorm-style room: had a bed, desk, heater, tv, mini-fridge, wifi access and not much else. You get access to the communal kitchen and laundry. The staff are mostly older students and keen to help.

It is basic but cheap and does the job. I noticed they have exceptional deals in Summer from $425/month. I wouldn't hesitate to take advantage of those if you are here for a while.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms have shared bathroom. Ask if there is someone staying in the other room. They try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place

Address: 3140 Peter Street, Windsor, Ontario N9C 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Sandwich , Sandwich South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to the University of Windsor and 10 minutes drive from the Casino, enlightened business travelers on a budget find University Place a refreshing alternative to overpriced hotels. Features: Clean, comfortable and quiet furnished rooms, 4 room and suite types to choose from, digital TV, fridge, phone with free voice mail and local calls, wireless internet throughout the building, cooking and TV lounge on each floor, laundry room on each floor, courtyard and gardens. Safe and secure: cameras in all public areas + card door access system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
University Place Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.