We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2885 Howard Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N8X 3Y4, Canada (Remmington Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Whirlpool Suites
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I needed a place for 2 nights as I was getting some work done at the Windsor Eye Institute. They shuttled me to and from the clinic both days, no charge. Rooms very clean. All ammenities were great, loved the putting green. I ate in the restaurant and the food was great and reasonably priced.
You are only minutes from the casino, the river front, good restaurants, with easy driving.
I will stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: corner suite close to ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I as a customer of the Ivy restaurant went in to the Ivy rose for breakfast with my two small children and was told because of Mothers day they were only taking reservations. As i go in to the Ivy Rose at least once a month i thought this was bad customer service. But It was a blessing to have seen a new restaurant up the street called isabels great service great food and most of all first come first serve.To the management of the Ivy Rose you have jaded a regular customer and by doing so you have cost your restaurant a bad reputation among customers in the area > I hope your Mothers day was worth it. One day a year to several times a year BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schechingen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I`m from Germany and was for working in Windsor. I found this Motel and must say, that the standard is absolut great. Very friendly, clean, nice....... all what you need.
If you need help, just came to the office and they say where you all can find (shopping, eating...)
When I came back it`s only one stop- at IVY ROSE

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed at this motor inn as we were attending a family funeral. My parents had stayed at this location many years before and liked it - so we thought we would try it again.

From the very first contact with this establishment, I was impressed. Not only did the person who answered the phone express sincere concern, but they offered us a reduced rate "on compassionate grounds". You certainly would not get something like this from a large chain hotel!

Entering the lobby of this family run hotel was like walking into someone's living room - comfortable easy chairs, obviously personal mementos and a friendly dog (Daisy) to greet you.The check in process was prompt and polite. There were a few copies of the local newspaper - The Windsor Star and the Globe and Mail (complimentary). The pop cooler was filled with an excellent variety of cold beverages and coffee/tea (complimentary) was also available. Some small packages of potato chips were also for sale.

Our room was located on the ground floor (Room 125). While the furnishings were not the most modern, the sheer roominess and cleanliness made up for it. There was a new flat screen TV but limited cable stations (10). The two queen beds were firm and comfortable. The bathroom decore was dated but the shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. The location of the room was far enough away from the busy roadway (Howard Avenue) out front that the room was quiet.

One of the days that we were there was unseasonably warm and we wished to sit outside. A member of the staff obtained a couple of plastic chairs for us to do so - despite the fact that the pool and surrounding area was not open for the season. It was appreciated and demonstrated the customer service attitude that this establishment portrays.

We also ate a breakfast and a dinner meal at the on site restaurant - both good and the selection and prices more than reasonable. There are several alternatives within walking distance including Tim Horton's right across the street. There is a gas station across the street as well. The location of the Ivy Rose is in close proximity to the E.C. Rowe Expressway and access to the 401.

We were impressed and plan to return to the Ivy Rose whenever in the area to visit family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiarton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We often stay at IVY ROSE when visiting family. We ask for one of the larger rooms. Great value, clean and we really like that it is owned by private and very active owners onsite to take care of your needs. There is a play ground right there for kids and outdoor pool in summer. Feels very safe and secure. Lots of things in walking distance but very busy road. We always ask for room near back away from road. We also like the restaurant onsite good home made food choices. Lots of choices for kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the ivy rose in Windsor Ontario. Wish we would have had time to stay more, its clean large room very good staff large parking lot nice restaurant we love it

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We found this motel on Trip Advisor. We needed a mid point on our way to Niagara Falls. The staff was friendly. We liked the large room. It was very clean. There was a small microwave and refrigerator. The decor was from the 70's. The bed was hard. There were two pillows. Very limited TV channels and the lighting was poor. The price was very reasonable for what you get. The property is owned by a Canadian family and they work hard to provide a reasonable place to stay. We would stay there again....for one night.
HOWEVER, we would not eat at their adjoining restaurant. The food quality on the buffet was not that good. The food was cold or barely warm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2885 Howard Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N8X 3Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Remmington Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Rose Motor Inn is a family owned and operated business. Our family, 'The Skally's, established the Ivy Rose with a small motel and we have since grown into a unique 91 room complex, offering our guests 'Something a little bit different.' The Ivy Rose Motor Inn is situated on five acres of beautifully landscaped grounds with ample free parking. Enjoy our outdoor, heated pool and putting green located in a private, secluded area. There are playground facilities for the children and three patios to relax on during the warmer months. There is a restaurant on site, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Remember the Ivy Rose -- the coffee is always on, and the atmosphere is friendly. Your hosts, the Skallys ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.