We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Avanti

Ristorante Avanti
1317 Hall Avenue, Windsor, Ontario, Canada (Walkerville)
519 253 0465
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 643 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Walkerville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Decided to have a surprise party for my wife and decided to let them do all the work. As this is my wife's favourite restaurant. It was great and everyone who attended could not stop talking about how good the good was. Party was in January and they still talk about it, and are now going back and taking their family and friends. They have great food, great prices, great atmosphere both comfortable and welcoming, and a great friendly staff that makes you feel like family. Try it and you won't be sorry.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    7
    2
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As the manager of a small family-owned Bed & Breakfast for the past three years I have found that the first question our clients ask of us is "where is a great place to eat?"
We usually answer with "Do you like Italian, because we know this perfect place we can recommend?" To this day, we have yet to have anybody say anthing but good things about the food or more usually how they can't wait to go back to enjoy such great food.

I usually go about describing it as an Italian rustic farmhouse feel with an open concept kitchen.
Upon arrival you are usually met by the owner Dan unless it is busy on Friday or Saturday when the most helpful servers are ever present to answer all questions. Dan is always giving in his recommendations or suggestions concerning the menu and will even personalize the dish if you so wish. Anthony is always welcoming with a wave or hello when not head hunched over working at a furious pace over the stove with flames shooting upward!! If you enjoy a three course dinner there are two options of Table d'Hote menu to choose from which is unlimited but rarely needed with such generous portions at such a fair price.We continue to frequent Avanti as a family when we want to treat ourselves and to see the Ferriolo brothers and are grateful to recomend without hesitation a fellow community business that like ourselves, is in business for the passion of our callings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I usually am happy when I leave this restaurant so we booked our NYE dinner for here.. 6 courses for $80 ... Not impressed at all seemed like they were trying to rush us out bringing course after course .. It wasn't even busy . The chicken with cranberries was disgusting and had no taste appeal .. The entire meal was not even worth $40 not happy and will not be returning ... Seems like they have lost their passion for cooking .. I could not get enough of this place when it first opened

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avanti1317, Owner at Ristorante Avanti, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

After 6 years in business i want to apolagize for dissapointing you . We try our hardest to please each and every single customer and after being in this business we find that to be impossible. Unfortunatly you were on the bad end of our efforts. The idea was not rushing your dinner but it was family style. We like our customers to eat Italian style like we do at home. Sorry if you are not custom to that or did not appreciate that. Thank you for the review to help us get better and strive to impress and all our guest.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, average atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went for an anniversary. Very pleasant staff (the 2 brothers). One cooks and the other serves, no other staff that we saw. I found the lights were too bright for fine dining.,a bit run down. Felt like we were going to someones house for supper rather than a night out on the town.Interesting watching the chef right in front of us cooking the meals. Food was excellent. Had the lamb and rabbit. Large portions at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went on advice two years ago and regularly visit for special occasions and when bringing friends and family. Dan and Tony run a very nice restaurant that is very cozy and the atmosphere is always laid back. The food is very good and they make you feel like you are special each time we go. Highly recommend.
Ron and Heather Harway

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Avanti also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Avanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Avanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.