We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Lunch with Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Canoe Cafe

Red Canoe Cafe
17526 Hwy 60, Wilno, Ontario K0J 2N0, Canada
613 717 3113
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Wilno
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bistro, Grill, Organic
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Bancroft, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Lunch with Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I have stopped there a few times for lunch and at different times of year. We really enjoyed all of our meals there. The food is fresh and tasty and although there is a limited menu it is not a problem because everything is good! The patio deck is lovely in the summer and the main dining room is cozy in the fall and winter especially when the wood oven is fired up! Soups are unique and definitely homemade and the breads are fantastic. The cafe is now part of a coop that supplies local people with locally produced food. This is great for consumers and producers alike. We love the place and as we are ladies who do lunch this is one of our favourite places! Come out and try it for yourself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spot for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped here today for lunch with my mother. It's quite a small place with a limited menu. Conversations carry quite easily from one table to another. I had the meat pie with salad. Meat pie was very good; salad was nice with what appeared to be a homemade dressing. Mom had the BLT on multi-grain bread; she said it was good but that the bacon was hard. Served salt & vinegar kettle chips which I thought was rather odd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Baking out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've bought bread and scones from Rudy for a couple of years now. He makes them so fresh and so delicious using real ingredients, like butter. I finally stopped in for lunch one day and had an incredible grilled cheese sandwich with pumpkin soup. Unbelievably good! The ambiance of the wood oven and the local art on the walls makes for an enriching experience. Wilno is a community with heart and Rudy and his family belong there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gem in the North”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The fresh bread is amazing. Rudy is a true talent in the baking field. Lovely location. Stone baked pizza on Fridays. Delicious!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had lunch here---special of the day which was mushroom and leek quiche accompanied by a mixed green salad. There are several dressing options, but we asked the owner to surprise us and he made a dressing of sour cream, dijon and fresh chives which was delicious. The menu is small---just breakfast and lunch, but everything is freshly prepared and the bread is all baked on site in their brick oven. Gluten free bread is also available. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Canoe Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Canoe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Canoe Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.