We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Brew Pub

Mill Street Brew Pub
21 Tank House Lane, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3C4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 681-0338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #341 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Make sure to get there early and get a table since you can't make reservations, it's always busy. While you are waiting take the Mill St brewery tour and sample 4 Mill St. beers. The nacho's were really good and also the butter chicken was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    230
    88
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reliably Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mill Street Brewpub is our reliable, default restaurant when we have visitors. We took our daughter there when she came home from University, my sister when she was in town on business and my 86-year-old mother-in-law when we thought she needed to get out. The setting -- in the restored and renewed Distillery District -- is attractive, interesting and definitely worth a visit. The food is safe and predictable pub fair, nothing surprising, but it's well prepared and well presented. And the brewery does make good beer (I keep coming back to the easy-to-drink Stock Ale). Service is above average. Reservations can be made if you do so well in advance, but you can almost always get a seat within 30 to 60 minutes if you arrive without one. And walking around the District is a nice way to spend your time waiting for them to buzz you back for your table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Microbrewery worth considering to watch the game, any game.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been to Mill St on a few different occasions and have never had a bad visit. Lot of different beers on tap including seasonal beers. Service is usually pretty quick and friendly for a restaurant that's seems to be packed 9 times out of 10.
Food selection isn't huge, but a large menu makes it harder to decide anyhow.
Every meal comes to the table hot and fresh. We always order a hot pretzel bun.
I could go on and on about every item on the menu, but I don't have enough time to say so many good thing. Everything on the menu is worth trying.
Oh and ask the bartender to select your different beers when sampling, he/she will just about always pour a perfect selection.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Every time we go to the Distillery we feel like we are in the different century. The experience is incredible. Beer selection is very different

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

after sampling a few really cool beers...coffee beer?? we had a terrific dinner. burgers, steak and huge salads all really good. the service was incredible, and it was a crazy busy saturday night - much louder, boisterous atmosphere than the other distillery district choices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Brew Pub also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Mill Street Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.