We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a beer and posh pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Bistro

Beer Bistro
18 King St East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1C4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-861-9872
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beer Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Yonge St.
Transit: King Subway Station on the Yonge Line; King St. Street-Car service 24-hour Queen St. Street Car Service.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for a beer and posh pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very popular. I arrived without a reservation mid week and was sat at the chef's bar so could watch my food being prepared. This was fascinating, although it removed the novelty of dining out a little. Great staff and amazing beer selection with tips to pair with your food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    177
    37
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington County, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stopped here on our first night in Toronto looking for a few drinks and light food. Did not disappoint! Had a great pear pizza. Beer and wine selection is outstanding. We enjoyed the atmosphere. Friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Food & Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our first meal in Toronto was here, after a whole day travelling we were ready for a beer and something to eat. This place was perfect , a chance to try some local beers and food in a relaxed environment. We left full and content, can't be fairer than that . So it's got to be worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The beer selection was great, as expected. What I didn't expect was a superb selection of mussel dishes. The mussels diablo were clean and extremely tasty. Service to match.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Friends took us out to dinner here, so I have no idea about the prices. The place has as it seems Belgian meals: lots of mussels, fries and beers (very big choice!) - but a good choice of other things as well.
We had mussels, salmon and latkes. All were really tasty. The latkes were super nice, the salmon was juicy and not overcooked, and the mussels came in too many varieties! The fries are fried in duck and beef fat - not a nice idea for a veggie but reportedly super nice taste with good homemade mayo.
Choc ice cream and creme brulee topped it.
Waittress was really nice about a misunderstanding.

Place was packed on a Thursday - understandably...!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Beer Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beer Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.