We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Gourmand

Le Gourmand
152 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3S6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
+1 416-866-2127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,655 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you live around it's a good choice for breakfast & cafe but it doesn't have anything special for me to come back if I'm not in that area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pick up your breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Yes... start my day with a delicious breakfast wrap and any coffee or the crisp croissant!
Thank God, good morning vibe and never again the f***face old lady in there throwing food over the counter.
My day... good day!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had an excellent avocado, tomato, and provolone Panini, topped off with a 180 degree latte. The deserts looked delicious, but I didn't partake in one. This is one hopping place of young office workers during the week in Toronto on Spadina. Great fast service. There are about 10 tables. Many take their food to go,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy... check this out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Work days are not always good and often at the end of the day I went for a coffee or a delicious chocolate chip cookie in Le Gourmand! But more than that it is pleased to be greeted with a smile.
Le Gourmand reopened with the same menu and an atmosphere that seems more spacious and clean and organized, but above all with an ever-smiling face.
There's a guy who seems to do everything by himself, like fish in the sea. Nice to see how he enjoys working, and doing really hard in every details, but above all... trying to generates a friendly and intimate time in something so simple as buying a coffee.
Good food, ood team and good job especially in a world where everyone seems to run!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The disappointment continues...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been a frequent customer of Le Gourmand over the years and it used to be my regular weekend spot for breakfast, coffee, treats for friends, etc. unfortunately their latest closure and reemergence has resulted in a zero value proposition for their customers. No one working there now seems to know what they are doing. During my last visit, my request to put a rush on placing my sandwich on the grill was met with hotty stares of indignation - it seems the cashier doesn't touch the food but just works the cash. Normally I have pretty mild expectations of service in a coffee place but the amount of time it has taken to receive my last few food orders has been incredible - truly almost hard to believe. 18 minutes for breakfast for my husband and I; 7 minutes to receive a grilled sandwich that was already prepared and just needed to be grilled. This is all disappointing because the food is actually very good but the lack or organization to actually receive the food takes away from the enjoyment of it. I hope they can get their act together; the Starbucks two doors down is only too happy to steal customers from a neighborhood establishment.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gourmand also viewed

 

Been to Le Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Gourmand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.