We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food is overated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar

Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar
696 Queen St East, Toronto, Ontario M4M 1G9, Canada
4164062669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #629 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“food is overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service was excellent from the hostess to the barstaff.....but the food is ok and not in any way a must eat destination.....the hipster clientelle seems to enjoy it though and the actual decor and ambiance is nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really fun with great food, service and beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

In fact I think I'll go there for lunch today! I've been about a dozen time and the food was consistently great. The atmosphere is noisy and raucous; loud music in the bar área, but a nice crowd. I'm a senior and have always felt welcome there, unlike many places where you can see the waiter eyeing you with disdain for not being hip and young. I've only gone once on a Friday evening when the place turns into a club cum pickup bar, but I managed to get a table and had a the usual great food and service. If you like fish, try their pickerel fried in a cornflake batter. Superb! Another good sign is that when I once had a side of coleslaw that was well beyond its best-before date, the waitress whisked it away and offered me a free pint. That's class and it sure made me want to go back. Like now!! I love the Weissbier. It reminds me of the days when I made my own beer and was shocked at how good I was able to make it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

First time visiting,definitely won't be the last. Great draught selection and wine list. We visited sun may 26th, not sure of our servers name but he was fantastic. We frequent a lot of bars and restaurants and this guy was amazing. He was constantly roaming around, ensuring everyone's drinks weren't empty. Had some nachos and fries, were both delish. We were checking out other items being served and everything looked yummy. Also, the hooch hour, you can take advantage of premium drinks for 5 bucks and 250 jäger all day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice hangout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have visited this establishment a few times. I do think that the owners are working hard to make this business work. Nice decor, nice drink selection, and capable staff.

I visited recently for dinner, first time I have eaten here. The service was good from the friendly smiling hostess to the friendly smiling waitress.

Drinks are on special around the dinner hour, so had some great beer for about $3 cheaper than anywhere else. ex. $5.09 for a glass of european beer

The menu is not huge but covers burgers/salads/flatbread/sandwiches/steaks. I am generalising there but you get the gist of it. The food is cooked a little tastier than usual, as lots of duck fat is used. Tasty. But the cost of the food was too high for what it is.

The clientele was mix of after-work crowd (small groups, couples) with a table or two full of loud obnoxious yelling ball-cap-wearing dudes and ladies.

Would I return? Sure. The food was tasty and the drinks cheap. But would I return there instead of trying somewhere new? I don't think so.

Overall I would recommend it, but with lowered expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went for dinner on a Saturday evening and the place was bustling. Service was super - very friendly and courteous staff that were also very attentive. The menu has unique and unusual items which make this a place that you should try at least once. Portions are generous and food tastes fresh and healthy - even the duck poutine. The food was not laden with salt and the poutine did not taste greasy.....everything was perfectly made. The atmosphere is great as well and the place has a real positive vibe. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.