We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say "YES!" to Prohibition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar

Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar
696 Queen St East, Toronto, Ontario M4M 1G9, Canada
4164062669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #632 of 6,773 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Mt. Albert, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Say "YES!" to Prohibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Leave the diet at the door. Duck fat is the oil of choice and foie gras is available as a side!
From daily Poutine specials to Duck wraps and Bison burgers this place goes straight for the coronary.
To be fair there are some amazing salads on the menu....but come on....NACHOS WITH GUYERE CHEESE AND BISON CHILI!!!
Service was friendly and efficient. Atmosphere was loud, and energetic.
I couldn't eat here all the time but its a great place for casual, creative dining.
Prices were a little steep but I was so thrilled with my meal I didn't care.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My Official Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cracked Canoe, good nachos and sweet potatoes, my official bar by far!

The bison burger is also highly recommended.

Did I mention they have Hooch Hour? (Happy Hour) 16h:00 - 19h:00 and after 22h:00!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food + Wine = Very Good Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have been here a couple of times, once just for snacks and beer, and last evening for a full meal. Service is excellent, food is very good and some of it is quite inventive. Could be a bit more complex in flavours (I had the 25 minute chicken which was good, juicy, but unexciting). Wine list is reasonably marked up, each bottle only $20.00 above retail cost. Not too loud so we were able to converse without effort. Apps a little pricey, but very tasty. I would definitely return, and try something more adventurous on the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lively Atmosphere & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This could be the best establishment in the area. We've frequented Prohibition on several occasions, but it had been almost 2 years since our last visit (due to out of country travel). We were very pleasantly surprised to find the place still hopping with good energy, friendly & fun staff and a good selection of food of excellent quality. They have an excellent wrap around bar that is ideal for an evening of drinks & socializing. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy Hour 4-7, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a fabulous place. Gastro pub with the most innovative menu. Really good selection of nice eats. We tend to go around 4-7 which is happy hour, meaning all drinks (even top shelf liquor) is $5......food wise - LOVE the pulled pork Nachos, duck confit fries, flatbreads, and basically everything the menu.
My hubby and I love walking there on a Sat afternoon and spending some time here. Great service, they all work as a team, no waiting and just friendly atmostphere....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prohibition Gastropub & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.