We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Restaurant

Senator Restaurant
249 Victoria St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
+1 416-364-7517
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Description: The Senator is Toronto's oldest restaurant, dating back to the 19th century when it was just a house at 249 Victoria Street. Since then, the Senator has put its heart and soul into making the freshest, highest-quality food for generations of good-food lovers.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at the Senator after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Senator may be great for breakfast but I definitely wouldn't recommend it for dinner.

The crab cake appetizer for two was a huge disappointment. It's made with imitation crab, heavily breaded and greasy. It is definitely not worth $14. My husband had the "homemade" meatloaf. If it was homemade, it looked like it was made a few days ago. It was small, dry, dense and very stiff. The sauce poured over it was mainly ketchup. I had Cobb salad which was ok at best.

I wouldn't go back or recommend the Senator.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    88
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Go back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and walked from our hotel to the restaurant.
As others have said, it is like going back in time when you walk up to the Senator.
The breakfast was delicious as we enjoyed fresh omelets. Not very big, be willing to
wait but not for long. The crowd seems to turn over fairly fast and the wait isn't too long.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have happened upon this little jewel by chance. It harkens to a simpler time when you viewed a meal at a restaurant as an occasion, a special treat. The atmosphere rekindles memories of years gone by. Based solely on the ambiance I might be inclined to look elsewhere, however I am so very happy that I stayed to enjoy a wonderfully prepared meal with excellent service.
Attention to detail in the food preparation is above reproach. With the restaurant owners also owning their own farm the quality and freshness of ingredients is assured from garden to table.
This experience was reminiscent of a 1950 local diner with all of the history and furnishing to support the effect.
Treat yourself to fresh, well prepared meals at reasonable prices, served by efficient and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS COFFEE...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

great service and great coffee... = great start to a day...have been here many timnes ver the years....will be back soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best restaurant coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Walked miles to find this place based on Tripadvisor ratings.....best restaurant coffee I have ever had! Toasted roasted western way too large and average, husband's ham & eggs so-so. Interesting history to the place, looks like it is out of the 60's. Would not walk there again...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senator Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Senator Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.