We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the trip and very very offensive owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mengrai Thai

Mengrai Thai
82 Ontario Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416)840-2759
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the trip and very very offensive owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very neat restaurant located in a shady part of town and the food is nice and flavourful but you must then put up with the owner who is terribly rude to customers.
I have found many another restaurant serving thai that are better and appreciative of thier customers and so do not recommend the drive to Ontario Street . Also My car was dented badly after we came out maybe due to the seedy area of the restaurant

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Best Thai food I've had to date. Service was impeccable. Dishes were creative and delicious. The owner was most helpful and attentive. I don't know what the guy on here is talking about, but he should learn to spell if he plans to have his reviews taken seriously. This place is a five star restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very very rude owner but good service otherwise just dont complain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The place is a very cool location but the owner in particular Allan is very rude and when any changes are requested he makes you feel like you should not be there
Its almost like he does not want you in the restaurant.
They offer cooking classes and we started going hear a year ago and once the oplace became known its almost like the owner changed personalities and frankly makes you feel like a second class citizen. I woiuld not go back , there are many inviting Thai restaurants in Toronto happy to have you

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Thai resto to try, amongst the best meals I have ever had anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

WOW! This is an incredible restaurant, and for many reasons: food, service, and atmosphere. Food first of all: my wife and I had the fixed price menu, which, for $37 was very generous and not at all outrageous price wise. Every course, every bite was intense, harmonious flavors on the palate and excellent execution all around. I won't describe each dish in detail, but my main course was the beef ribs, and they were fall off the bone gorgeous, intense, and as flavorful as I have ever tasted. Service was all smiles and attention throughout the evening, and the location is very intimate and romantic, with an historic feel you'd find in Europe or Tribeca. Bottom line, this place is as good or better than anything I have tried in the likes of NYC, San Fran, Chicago, and Toronto. Go there and eat, you will love everything about it....!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Serious Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The veggie green curry will knock your socks off. In fact most of the dishes will.
The flavors won't disappoint and the menu you is brilliant.

As for the interior, it just confuses me. The layout is messy, and the linens date it to another era. Most food arrives in oddly shaped dishes/plates, the food is great enough on it's own, no need to dress it up.

Let's hope for a renovation soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mengrai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mengrai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mengrai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.