We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop for some Northern Vietnamese cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi 3 Seasons Restaurant

Hanoi 3 Seasons Restaurant
588 Gerrard St, Toronto, Ontario M4M1Y3, Canada
4164639940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #754 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for some Northern Vietnamese cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Took the advice of fellow reviewers and tried the grouper on vermicelli (they also have the option of grouper in soup). The fish was cooked perfectly! Simply melts in your mouth.

We also tried the Gu Nuong Gung (ginger chicken), shrimp-crab-pork fried rolls and the Hen (Sautéed spicy baby clams served with rice crackers). The baby clams were amazing and stole the show for us this evening (even though the grouper was fantastic).

Service was very proficient. The Gerrard location is pretty small and the tables were constantly filling up, yet the waitress kept up with the flow and the cook was sending orders out without missing a beat.

Parking can be a bit of a challenge (located just east of the Broadview/Gerrard intersection) but this is a worthwhile stopover.

We were in Vietnam last winter and the dishes we tried tonight beat some of the meals we had in Hanoi. We'll be back next to try the Pho.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Go for the grouper or the ginger chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Most of the Vietnamese restaurants in Toronto's east-end (Gerrard St. area) Chinatown serve south Vietnamese chow. But the name alone, Hanoi 3 Seasons, tells you you'll be getting the spicier, northern fare. I live in the area and most often go for the Hanoi-style grouper served on a bed of vermicelli. If fish isn't to your liking you can't go wrong with the ginger chicken. Wash it down with a Saigon beer. It's a step above our mass produced Canadian brew. You'll note below that I've given an average rating to "outdoor seating". That is a mistake that tripadvisor wouldn't allow me to correct. There is no outdoor seating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The service is excellent, our waiter gave excellent advice and the food was great. Portions are very large so be careful not to over order and have fun sharing! Small and quaint, we were at the Queen St location. Try the dessert the ginger pear ice cream was wonderful, even the coffee was better than most I actually had in Vietnam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This may well be one of the very best pho restaurants in Toronto - Leslieville's little gem is cash only and is closed on Mondays, but head in and try their house special pho... Amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“I will keep going back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been going to Hanoi 3 Seasons for years. Food is great and so is the service. The grouper is my favorite and always tastes the same. Every friend I bring loves the service and the food. Keep doing everything you are doing.

PatriciaT

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi 3 Seasons Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Hanoi 3 Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi 3 Seasons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.