We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Devon

Duke of Devon
Toronto Dominion Tower, TD Centre, Toronto, Ontario M5K 1H1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 642-3853
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #723 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Oxford, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food and a lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A visit to the Duke is always enjoyable. The service is good and it is always busy. Fish and chips are a featured meal. The hot hamburger sandwich was also a hit. Good selection of beers and wines and a broad pub menu.
The maitre d is always "on his game" and makes one feel welcome. The waitresses are well turned out, and are attentive and engaging.
Good value for the money and well worth visiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This restaurant had amazing service. Our waitress was attentive, funny, and sooo nice. It was traditional pub style bar, so the atmospere was comfortable. The food was good, not crazy good, but nice bar food. I had a stacked chicken Quesodilla with a salad. The spicy mustard sauce on top was the best part. The boy had a smoked meat sandwich, which tasted unique, and broccoli soup which was a little intense for me. Unfortunately I ordered a Watermelon Mojito, which I thought would taste a little more like watermelon. Bleh, did not like it, did not complain though. I leave no drink behind!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a drink after work!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place is great for a drink after work, a lovely patio (that can get a bit too crowded) and good food. They are also extremely accommodating for company events!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Busy, loud, good service, good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

A lunch or after hours its a great place to go.
Unless you want to talk attentively. Thisplace is loud.
Food is hot, well prepared bar food with a splash of indian/asian fare. The brits love their curry, basmati rice and pad thai type dishes.

Beer list is great. Service is attentive.

Some of the waitresses kilts are shorter than I remember at catholic high school. but complaints Attentive staff were all top notch.

Thubs up and an extra pint.
.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Visited the Duke on Robbie Burns Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went to The Duke of Devon for lunch on Robbie Burns Day. As expected it was crowded, but we had reservations and were seated promptly. Didn't order the haggis as I'll be having it this weekend, but settled for a overcooked cheeseburger and very good green salad. There is a good selection of single malts and beer on tap. Our server was slightly overbearing and pushy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Devon also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Duke of Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.