We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anjappar Chettinad Restaurant

Anjappar Chettinad Restaurant
3090 Eglinton Ave. East, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-265-2695
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #973 of 6,773 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet
Markham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went to this restaurant upon receiving a coupon with the 50% off on the second lunch buffet. I love Indian buffet and I was thinking that this will be another regular buffet where they serve butter chicken and tandoori chicken only to find out I was wrong. This place serves authentic Indian food. Most of their clients are Indians. The food is amazing and spicy. Chettinad chicken is way better than butter chicken. I been to most of the Indian buffet in Toronto, GTA and mississauga, but for 9.99 lunch buffet... this is the best buffet so far.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Globetrotter
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best South Indian you can have on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best South Indian food you can have on the planet (Sorry Mom...)...esp Mutton Sukka Varuval/Masala..Worth the Six hour drive across the Falls...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast/Brunch Buffet = Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I absolutely love their food and their coffee! We make a point to visit Chettinad's regularly, especially when we have guests coming from far away. Everyone seems friendly and the buffet is the the way to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a expensive meal for southindian dish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

we as a family couple times been there, first of all there is no welcom
pleasing manners, no thanks or any greetings when you are leaving.
quantity is very small and the price is so expensive. taste is good.
we can say, there is no authentic chettinad taste. sambar and chutney
no southindian taste. especially, they say coconut chutney, but it is not
coconut. something else has been addeded. sorry to say. they have to correct. otherwise they are losers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Visited to Anjappar Chettinad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We visited this restaurant to toronto. They serve authentic south Indian vegetarian food and the hot Dosa(Masala Dosa, Ghee Dosa) are my favorites. They are too good and I really enjoyed the spicing with the variety taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anjappar Chettinad Restaurant also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Anjappar Chettinad Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anjappar Chettinad Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.