We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible "restaurant". Stay away if you want even half decent food and service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Banknote

The Banknote
663 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1M5, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,041 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Restaurant details
TOronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Horrible "restaurant". Stay away if you want even half decent food and service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Where to begin? This "restaurant" is terrible and quite seriously the worst I've been to in this city, having lived here for more than 10 years. After being served a stead that had absolutely no blood when we asked for medium, we sent it back. The owner himself brought out the second one; this time is was pretty much right out of the package, more rare than that crying tears of diamonds. He then tried to tell us that medium-rare and blue is the same thing. When we told him that this steak was completely uncooked and cold and this is definitely not medium he actually told us to leave and never come back and they he had never been treated this way after 20 some odd years of being open. We were very polite, did not act upset or angry when sending back the steaks... all we wanted was a decent dinner which we didn't get. We were completely respectful and polite until he told us that we were banned.... because his "chef" served us a raw steak which is, in his world, the same as medium.

Stay away from this place. Food is horrendous, service equally as horrendous.

Message to the owner; I find it shocking that you've managed to stay open for 20 some odd years. You should learn some manners and learn how to treat customers - who pay your salary and employees' wages. You also should learn how to cook and train your "chef" because if you think a raw steak is the same as medium, as a basic fundamental rule in cooking and grilling, you've got a problem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My friends and I were in Toronto for a guys weekend and stumbled upon this bar after hitting a couple of lame spots. This is your classic local bar that plays good music, has a diverse group of customers (although that is Toronto) and a real cool staff. If you don't want to club scene, but still want to hang out and chill, this is the one. Mel and Heather were awesome and treated us well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Pizza was like eating cardboard and inedible. It was covered in yellow old broccoli. Stick to bar food, other meals to pricey for what you get. 4 shrimp and a little linguine $14.
But the beer was good

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“good spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food and service here is what I expect. Good food and average pricing. All four of us had somthing diffrent and all was good. Your able to catch a game on one of the TV. Its clean and nice in a historic building.. Was recommended by the door man and driver at the Ritz. They were nice enough to take my party there.
Price for four of us with drinks. $87.00 plus tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Super food, good service, great prices - WIN WIN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate here for dinner on Thurs March 21 and it was excellent. Service was good, food was excellent and prices were so reasonable. LOVED IT!

They have lots of beers on tap, specials nightly, tonnes of selection for food choices (sandwiches, pasta, burgers, pizza, salads, etc.) Something for everyone!!

EAT HERE! Thanks to the Thompson Hotel staff for the recommendation :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banknote also viewed

 

Been to The Banknote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banknote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.