We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best breakfast around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cora's

Cora's
277 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3E4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416.598.2672
Improve this listing
Ranked #424 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Still the best breakfast around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our third family holiday to Canada in 5 years and Cora's breakfast are still hard to beat. The menu hasn't changed in that time but who cares, given that its as good as it is! Loads of choice and great portion sizes. I adore the Theo's skillet, which is packed full of veggies and potatoes (for British readers, its a kind of posh Bubble and Squeak) and really really tasty.

There is a slightly longer wait than other outlets because it's clearly all cooked to order. The staff are great but I do get the feeling there aren't quite enough of them. Beware of big queues outside at the weekend.

The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I think the decor is starting to look a little frayed and dated and I think it's high time for Cora's to start using free range eggs. C'mon guys - its 2013 and just think how brilliant it would be for Cora's to lead the way on animal welfare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    96
    44
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iroquois Falls
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“What a Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I visited here after a night of partying and staying at the Marriott. When we approached the line was pouring out the door. We almost turned around and went somewhere else but WOW am I ever glad we didn't! We were at our table, coffee in had within 10 minutes. Greeting staff, serving staff and management were all very pleasant. We enjoyed Jenny`s service for our visit! My partner had the Sunday something LOL which included eggs cooked the way you like them, bacon, home fries, blueberry pancakes, toast and a very healthy serving of fresh fruit. I had the Eggs Ben et Dictine which of course is Eggs Benedictine, served with homefries and again a very healthy serving of fresh fruit including Strawberries, Apple, Kiwi, Orange, Pineapple and Cantaloupe. For a little extra I added my own twist with Brie cheese and mushrooms on my Eggs :) We both also had their cocktail of the day with was a Strawberry, Banana, Mango and Papaya fruit smoothie! What a great remedy to a hangover :) I am very much so looking forward to visiting this great breakfast place again on my next trip to the city!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Cora's was recommended by concierge @ hotel (Intercontinental Toronto Centre) & I can see why! Fun & casual atmosphere, great coffee & menu options featuring fresh fruit & crepes. I was in heaven. My only negative is that we only made it there 1 time on our trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Eat 'Em Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had just checked in and breakfast had already been served in the hotel. The staff recommended Cora's, as it was just around the corner. There was a bit of a line because it included early birds for the Blue Jay's game right down the street. But, the food made the wait worthwhile. I'd go so far as to call it special. Very creative breakfasts, generous portions and plenty of healthy fruit and vegetables. I could eat there evry day of the week.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Pancakes every time !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Advised to go here by our tour guide as I wanted a tip for a good place to get pancakes. When we arrived at 10 on a monday morning I was quite surprised to find a queue outside where we stood for around 15 minutes. This was obviously a good thing as it was popular, I found out later that there is often a queue around the block at weekends and when the food arrived i can see why. The pancakes were fluffy and light and tasted fantastic, I opted for 3 pancakes with bacon and eggs and also got some fruit to be healthy. nice warm decor and service although a little slow nice and polite. Good place to go if your near the CN tower or Blue Jays stadium as about a 10 min walk away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cora's also viewed

 

Been to Cora's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cora's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.