We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lobster Trap Restaruant Weston Rd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobster Trap Restaurant

Lobster Trap Restaurant
1962 Avenue Rd, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
647 352 0680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,000 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Lobster Trap Restaruant Weston Rd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

6 of us went and we really enjoyed our meals. Four of us had the King Crab and it was excellent. The other two meals were very good as well.The only small complaint is their drinks should be refillable. Very minor. I would also like to make it know that this is the Restaurant on Weston Rd and has just opened recently and should not be confused with The Lobster Trap reviews. Also the wait staff and hostess were very accommodating. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    10
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant used to be one of the better seafood places in Toronto. Not anymore. It is now completely overcrowded with coupon people. Reservations are either not available or not honoured, depending on who you talk to. The service is terrible-orders mixed up, tables not served in the order they were seated, missing cutlery, even missing chairs. Five star prices for a one star experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Night Out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really disappointed in my visit here. To begin with, the restaurant is old and dingy and could use a good cleaning and renovation. Service was extremely slow and left you with the feeling that you had been forgotten. When the entrees finally did arrive, there was an error in one of the orders but we chose to say nothing rather than wait any longer. The food is very much over-priced for what you are getting here. It was not an experience I could recommend nor one I would care to repeat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sad sad sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Visited with family tonight and it was a major disappointment. We have been coming here for over 30 years and were shocked at the changes in service and quality of food. Garlic bread was not as tasty and some had mold. They were replaced but not enjoyed and no apology. Lobster bisque tasty but thin and no lobster. Service very slow, no butter warmers. Had to get up and find salt as it was not on the table. Lobster was good but took forever, as did the six year olds fish and chips. Another Toronto institution gone down the tubes. Our waitress was pretty bad. The waitresses there used to be amazing! It saddens me that I will never return. I think the Buytopia vouchers have been their ruination. They are obviously cutting back on quality to make up for the coupons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Dinning Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had dinner there tonight. First of all, we called to book a table but the line always went to the answering machine and there was "no room for more messages". We arrived at 6:30pm and were seated immediately; the dining room was about quarter full. The room was dark and the decor was old; I don't know when was the last time that the dinner room was cleaned/renovated. The carpet was old and dirty. The window unit air conditioner was not working properly, and we felt hot even though we sat close to that unit. Different (at least five) styles of chairs were used. The cutlery was horrible. Different size, shape and the forks we used were all crooked. Small, thin, one ply dinner napkin was used. No wet napkin or water for the cleaning the hands after eating the lobster. Kitchen stainless mixing bowls were use for the shell of the mussels and the lobsters. Household hand detergent is what is available in the washroom. You need to use your hand to tear the paper hand towel because the rack was broken. We ordered the lobster thermidor, one 1.5 pound lobster (broiled). The lobster thermidor is tasteless; the broiled lobster was rubbery because it is overcooked. As a restaurant that features 'lobster', how could this happen? How many lobsters do they sell every week? They cannot cook a lobster properly? A non trained personal can make a better salad better than the kitchen staff there. There was no uniform of size on how the lettuce was cut. Some of it was cut in bite size but the majority was in other size ie, quarter inch in size. We requested for oil and vinegar, there were service on paper portion cups (like the ones used for ketchup at fast food restaurants). A restaurant cannot afford to use the proper serving equipment ie, bottles for olive oil and vinegar, proper utensil for serving? I don't mind paying (in fact, it is overpriced) $52.00 for one 1.25 pound lobster thermidor but please let the customers feel that the lobster worth $52.00. The light, room temperature, decor, presentation of food , serving utensil, furniture, service....etc. are horrible. Overall speaking, I had a bad dinning experience tonight and the restaurant is taken out my list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Trap Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Trap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobster Trap Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.