We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably cheap sushi + good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazz Japanese Bistro

Mazz Japanese Bistro
806 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4M 1H7, Canada
(647) 347-8744
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mazz Japanese Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Description: DISTRICT is a modern Japanese Bistro located in the heart of the trendy Riverside district of Toronto. DISTRICT blends sleek and sexy design with modern and authentic Japanese cuisine.  The result is a tempting and tantalizing fusion of sophistication and flavour in an elegant yet intimate lounge like setting.     Located on Queen Street East, in the space formerly occupied by Woodgreen Fish & Chips, District is a sleek and modern addition to the up-and-coming Riverside /Leslieville neighbourhood.    Arguably the area’s first ever sophisticated sushi restaurant, DISTRICT is a place to socialize, to linger, to relax and to savour a fresh and flavourful dining experience.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievably cheap sushi + good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I cannot believe the price - 9 pieces sushi, ~10 pieces of sashimi (4 different types of fish) + one roll only cost $19. It's unbelievably cheap. The fish was fresh (although a little bit too cold) and the food generally tasted good. The sushi was basic. Service was very attentive. Overall a good experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“It was cold in the restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was very cold outside and every time someone opened the front door a blast of very cold air filled the restaurant. Will have to try in the summer when that is not too much of a problem... Food was okay but seemed a little over priced for it's quality.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

2 of us dined there tonight. Service & food was fantastic. Had miso soup & tuna tartar for apps. Both were very good. We both had rolls for main course. Both were fantastic, but our waiter could tell we were still hungry & offered to give us the menu. She was bang on - we didn't order enough. We followed the main with the 'ebi ebi' roll & sweet potato wedges with wasabi mayo - both were absolutely spectacular. My only critique would be the edamame we shared between courses - it was very good, but quite a lot of sea salt. I'd probably ask for half the salt next time.
Excellent meal. It's not cheap, but it's a higher level than your average sushi restaurant. I will definitely return, again & again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Sushi pizza good.
Sushi. Good.
Sashimi good.
Price BAD!!!! Ouchie.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Expensive pseudo Japanese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I dunno. Nice decor but nothing special except the bill. Which was exceptional.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazz Japanese Bistro also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Mazz Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazz Japanese Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.