We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when in Chinatown, Toronto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Legend

Asian Legend
125 Ravel Road, Toronto, Ontario M2H1T1, Canada
416-756-9388
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,502 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“when in Chinatown, Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

don't miss this restaurant, clean, smart design and tasty

We went there by change when crossing Chinatown in a windy, chilly noon The place has a nice contemporary design and the food was excellent. Try the dumplings, by all means

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love the soup and dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great soup with excellent broth, and their dumplings are amazing as well. I often crave their soup when I am feeling under the weather because the broth has alot of flavour and they dont use alot of dough in their wontons.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great peking duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Asian Legend is one of my favourite Chinese restaurants and staples are peking duck and fish with wine essence. It isn't upscale per se, but short of as more refined dishes and clean, well laid-out setting (many Chinese restaurants in the same price range are drab and cluttered). I like it a lot, but as far as passion about Chinese food is concerned not quite the same as how I would feel abut Lee Garden (for "supper" - as not only for lunch anyways - that has amazing taste, but definitely lacks atmosphere). You eat generally different things so it about what you feel like (Lee Garden is about lobster, crispy chicken, deep-fried cod, steamed fish, and their beef and brocolli is much better) - but overall I have more a passion for Lee Garden. However, getting back to Asian Legend - best peking duck for the price (they helped bring down the price of peking duck, which for higher end restaurants in the past used to charge 50%+ more). I would highly recommend eating at this Asian Legend. Even though it is chain the chefs here are better than the Yonge and downtown ones.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Delicious food. I always get the beef brisket in noodle, siu long bao and beef in pancake sandwich. Great tasting and not expensive.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5188 Yonge Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the one close to the North York Subway (416-221-9797). Ordered crab meat & pork soup buns; chive & pork dumplings and others. The soup buns and dumplings are fantastic; really authentic. Not heavy at all. I think it is comparable to the best in Hong Kong. Service was good and efficient as well. It serves Northern Chinese cuisine. We had a lot for $25 per head including tips. One of my favourite restaurants in TRT.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Legend also viewed

 

Been to Asian Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Legend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.