We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning the Delights of Sake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ki Restaurant

Ki Restaurant
181 Bay Street - BCE Place, Toronto, Ontario M5J 2T3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
4163085888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ki Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $51 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Wellington
Description: ki modern Japanese & bar offers an interesting contemporary menu of Sushi, Japanese small plates, & fabulous shared entrees. A brilliant, cutting edge design incorporates a high profile bar & lounge area, 2 raised dining rooms & Toronto's most dynamic Sushi Bar. ki also offers 3 dramatic private dining areas for groups of 8 to 30 guests & an outdoor bar & patio space on 1 of Toronto's most influential streets.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Learning the Delights of Sake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place can really add up fast so be prepared for a pricey night, but it really is worth it. The service is excellent, the atmosphere is enjoyable, the food is tasty, and the Sake selection is extensive. For those of you who may be slightly apprehenvive about Sake (like I was), let me tell you this place has changed me. I tried four different Sakes and they were all wonderful - smooth. I never knew Sake could taste like this, be so enjoyable! There is also a Sake Sommalier at the restaurant who is very helpful.

If you are looking for a nice evening out, a chance to indulge a bit, I would recommend giving this place a try. Out of everything we tried from the menu the highlights were: the Alaskan King Crab sashimi and the dessert (the chocoloate cheesecake from the cheesecake trio is fantastic, as well as the flourless chocoloate cake).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    82
    38
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tantalizing Tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Tried a little taste of everything - it was all a delight to my taste buds. The copious amounts of selection cater to all flavors. The service was impeccable and our waitress very easy on the eyes.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Came in from Mississauga, Valet parking was great. Fantastic meal with great sushi choices. Popcorn shrimp was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sushio in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved the sushi and sashimi
Very pleasant atmosphere
Upscale modern decor.
Its a bit on the prices side but in my opinion is very well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced, extremely small portions, never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you read my previous reviews, I don’t publish bad reviews quite often, just those who really deserved a negative review. I tend to publish reviews on positive side, however, this is second bad review for a restaurant and I believe one of the worst experiences so far.

We had a small group lunch/dinner at KI restaurant in Toronto (BAY ST & Wellington St). Well, it was first time and last time for me and for few others from my group as well.
Ambient is nice, nothing spectacular, but nice.
Staff – they were very polite.
Drinks – reasonably priced, beer approx $ 7.5 (plus tax & Tip) – not sure about other drinks.

Food, here we go: although server warned us about small portions, we didn’t expect that kind of SMALL. Each portion was outrageously small, just few examples:
Fish (cob) was literally just few bites without anything on side.
Chicken – few (4) extra thin slices with 2 (TWO) pieces of French fries.
Ribs – 6 extremely small overcooked pieces (approx 2cm long / 1cm wide & few millimeters thick).
Each dish was around $ 20v- $ 25 before taxes and tip.
Side dish – another story, couple spoons of rice priced at $ 7.
I had similar experience with “high class/modern” restaurants before (same overpriced food and small portions), but this one was the worst.
Some restaurants have small portions but tasty food, this one – nothing special. Same kind of food you can get in majority of “regular” restaurants.

Well, to summarize, NEVER again – I don’t mind paying for a nice food and service, but this is just too much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ki Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ki Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.