We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Restaurant

George Restaurant
111 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1S2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 863-6006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Queen and Church
Transit: We are located at 111C Queen Street East, between Church and Jarvis on the south side of Queen. The closest subway stop is Queen. George is about a ten minute walk east from the station.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is not an inexpensive place, but definitely some of the BEST food I've ever tasted. Worth the experience! You won't be dissapointed!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    58
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“By George, they've got it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I had heard from several foodie friends that a trip to George Restaurant was not to be missed. And they were right. The food was fantastic - a delicious blend of flavours and textures. The visual presentation was lovely as well - all sorts of flourishes and colourful dollops of sauces. My friend and I ordered 3 courses (plus dessert) from the a la carte menu rather than opting for the 5, 7 or 10 course chef's choice options. The portions were on the small side, which suited me perfectly as it permitted me to enjoy my selections without overindulging. The first course, of dungeness crab with pine nut dust and chimichurri melted in my mouth. The second course of sea scallops with pumpkin pastina was flavourful and beautifully presented. The third course, of beef tenderloin with potato parsnip purée and shitake jus, was perfectly cooked, tender and tasty. Dessert was a pumpkin mousse cheesecake. Perfection. The service was impeccable as well. When my friend perused the wine menu, the sommelier appeared at her side to assist and make recommendations. All in all, it was a totally enjoyable dining experience. Dinner for two, with cocktails, wine, 3 courses and dessert, and tax came to about $300 before tip. I would highly recommend George Restaurant for that special treat or special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great Food -- Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I like this place. A lot. The food is excellent, the service convivial, but it's not quite perfect for what the bill is. It's at the top range in terms of cost -- lunch for two was over $200.00 -- so let's get that out of the way. For $200.00, that's about four lunches in lesser boites that still provide excellent food. For $200.00+, I expect excellent food, convivial service, and I expect a top notch dining experience in terms of ambiance, so it should be from end to end, a perfect experience.

it was good. I had a swordfish tataki (very nice), a white lasagna with short rib (excellent) and a bison with spaetzle. My partner had a buttered beef dish, the lasagna, and a wonderful sea bream. So there's nothing to complain about. Service was great, but at the end, there was still the missing elements that would have made it perfect.

We sat just a little too long.

The room is nice -- just not perfect.

So this is all about the money. No dessert. One drink each (modest), and a fair tip, and it was over $200.00.

That's a lot of money.

For that -- it should be end to end perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best bet for fine dining in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

George is my top choice for fine dining in Toronto. There are other restaurants with good service (eg. Canoe, Scaramouche) but the food is not nearly as exciting as what you get at George. It is sad that the T.O. press is obsessed with everything new and overlooks George. Shoto the best restaurant in Toronto? Please! George delivers more consistently delicious food and better wine pairings (and from a list with older vintages to draw on) for less money (even if it still costs a fair deal). Oh, and George seats more than 22 people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“beautiful restaurant with lovely ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

George is an upscale Toronto restaurant with a limited menu but we found the dishes very good. My only criticism is that the individual portions are relatively small so you get the benefit of being able to order 3 different dishes, which makes the meal expensive compared to many other establishments. The service was outstanding and the wine list is varied. I ordered the beef, which was done with lots of pink inside and the sides were most unusual and delicious. Others in my party ordered the halibut which was excellent. The atmosphere was young/lively but not over the top, and I say with confidence that a good time was had by everyone in my group. I also understand that the patio is outstanding but since it is December in Toronto, that was not an option

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to George Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.