We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much MSG” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Congee Wong

Congee Wong
10 Ravel Rd., Toronto, Ontario M2H 1S8, Canada
416-493-8222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,392 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Too Much MSG”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had gotten a bad stomach ache the last time I ate here and it definitely was not a good feeling.

I'm positive it came from the oily, MSG'ed dishes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
1,479 helpful votes 1,479 helpful votes
“Service not always great but food always excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The service here is not always great but food is always excellent I highly recommend the Cantonese Chow-mien and lemon chicken my wife and daughter love their rice noodles and beef.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bezeq
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Old dependable, all hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Clean and bright. They don't rip you off, and it's not russian roulette whatever you order. I've been there twice already this April--always dependable in terms of food quality and quantity, service, and crowd appeal. Now they accept credit card payments--after a good spate of robberies.
Parking's brutal--scavenge around. But go after hours--they close at 1 a.m. weeknights and 2 a.m. weekends.
Favourites--fried turnip cake, deep-fried fish skin, oyster/century-egg congee, super supreme congee, cantonese noodles, most everything there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“We've been going here for years - and the same staff are still serving!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Every time I head to Toronto, I have to visit this place at least once with my family. It is always packed, so yes, you do have to wait, or share a large table with others, which we never have a problem doing. There are always large servings, and the congee is delicious. You can't go wrong with the salt and pepper spicy friend squid, nor any of the friend noodles on the menu. If you don't want to eat there, they are experts in take-out too as my brother and his wife lived on their take out during their home renos. It is not a place for ambience, let's be clear, but if you want really good quality, clean, real Chinese fast food, you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Open late!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Service: Fast.

Decor: Good.

Food: Fast chinese food and the food is like any other Chinese resto.

Review: This is one of our go-to take-out places in the area. They are quick and open very late.

Reason for stars: The service is fast and it tastes good, but it is a bit greasy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congee Wong also viewed

 

Been to Congee Wong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congee Wong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.