We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great late night spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 7 West Cafe

7 West Cafe
7 Charles Street West, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1R4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 928-9041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,529 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great late night spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stopped in on a late Friday night after a concert. Cozy seating downstairs with a great atmosphere. The Pesto Pollo pasta dish was excellent. The chef got the seasoning on this dish perfect! My wife had the ravioli and it too was done just right. Generous portion sizes and very reasonable prices. Our server was excellent. We recommend this place for anyone who wants a late night dinner and does not want to settle for standard bar food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    29
    26
    24
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Very cosy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Located just off a very busy part of town. It's nice to step on to this side street and get away from all the noise to take in lunch or just have a coffee in a relatively quiet spot.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
“yummy late night place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

great place to take someone you just picked up at the bar for good food and intimate space. the service is ok, but the tuna melt is the best thing ever oh, and the chocolate cake!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were craving some pasta and through an internet search, we found 7 West Cafe and decided to give it a try. It is a very cool looking restaurant with a neat atmosphere. We were seated downstairs which was a bit cramped. The rest of the group ordered some nachos which they agreed were tasty but way overpriced. We all ordered a different pasta dish. They all really enjoyed theirs. One felt they were quite stingy with the chicken in their dish. Mine was okay. I ordered the Whole Wheat Ravioli. The pasta itself was delicious, I just had to get past a large amount of funny tasting tomato sauce. I know this is strange but it tasted more like jam than tomato sauce. It was edible, just weird.

Service was great, friendly, efficient and accommodating until the end when we asked for separate bills. We were rudely told they could but to let them know ahead of time next time. We were all planning to return again until that. It was very abrasive the way it was said to us. It seems to be common in Toronto but it is not common where we are from. I am a waitress myself so i am confused by it but oh well..

Apart from that, it was tasty and a great little spot. Plus, it is open 24 hours which is amazing since the food really is of high quality. It is nice to know that there are places open at all hours that aren't greasy, diner, fast-food joints.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot for food 24 hours a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Impeccably maintained and good food to match! 24/7 it's as reliable as they come.

Hummus is always good, and the pulled pork is tasty as well. Tuna melt is a legend - and makes it hard to save room for the fantastic selection of cakes.

Keep it up.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 West Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 7 West Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 West Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.