We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Du Pommier

Auberge Du Pommier
4150 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(416) 222-2220
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Auberge Du Pommier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $51 - $103
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Yonge St. & York Mills
Transit: York Mills Subway Station is located one block south of the restaurant on Yonge Street.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A birthday to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband took me to Auberge for my birthday this June and it was a spectacular night. The food was incredible. The steak tartar was the best I've ever had. We were shocked to see the variety of vegetarian options, including a full vegetarian tasting menu. The vegetarian entrée was superb--I would go back just to order it and I am not vegetarian.
Our waiter, Chad, truly made the evening special. He was only too happy to pair each course with wines by the glass, even when they were not listed by the glass on the menu. His recommendations were spot on. If you are looking for somewhere to go for a special night out, Auberge Du Pommier should be top on your list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    73
    39
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very service conscious restaurant with exquisite food. The foie gras was excellent, The dry aged rib eye was tender and delicious. The Alaskan halibat with morels was wonderful and you could actually see and taste the morels. We finished with the cheese tasting and a port. I miss the actual cheese board that they used to have.
The staff is very attentive from beginning to end. The building itself is charming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth repeated visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yes, it's expensive to eat more than once or twice a month, and it's definitely worth it every time we come here.
This time I had Steak tartar and it's the best I had in many years. The last good one was at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Paris. Interestingly Augerge Pommie r served it as appetizer and I think it's more appropriate this way. My wife had pan fried pork, and it's tender, yet the skin was perfectly crispy - no idea how it was prepare.
Service was impeccable, and the atmosphere wonderful. Can't wait for another visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent prix fixe menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the moment, we walked into the restaurant, the staff was nothing but warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Our server had an answer for every question we had. Each plate was beautifully arranged and very creative. For example, one of the dishes had a vegetable that looked exactly like peas, but we soon realized that they were actually cucumber cut and shaped like a pea. I loved the lamb dish even though I am not really a red meat fan, but it was prepared so well and so easy to eat, that I did not want it to end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A restaurant worth celebrating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An historic mill house set in parkland and gardens, this restaurant offers two tasting menus and tempting a la carte options. The service is exceptional, formal but not in the least stuffy. All wait staff was knowledgeable and out to please. No question was left unanswered. We sampled morels, fois gras, suckling pig, halibut, heritage veggies and fabulous wines by the glass. Homemade breads and desserts were to die for. Any time you want to enjoy a celebration dinner, big or small, you won't go wrong with Auberge du Pommier!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Du Pommier also viewed

 

Been to Auberge Du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Du Pommier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.