We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hm.. Could be BETTER !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adega

Adega
33 Elm St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1H1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416.977.4338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Adega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Yonge and Dundas
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Hm.. Could be BETTER !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well.. I have been searching for a new portuguese restaurant to visit and I was not impressed.
The food was good, but the menu is not really a traditional portuguese menu .. Just a couple dishes there were literally portuguese.. I also found it way over priced for what it is.. Nothing in my 3 course meal had a wow factor that would pull me back to visit. Adega is a OK restaurant for the price range that it is.. with that price tag I believe you should walk out saying " Oh wow, that was amazing.. "

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    87
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Hit the spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was just what we were looking for in a restaurant. Having read the TA reviews I was quietly confident that it wouldn't disappoint. It's truly Portugese food using lovely spices and interesting types of fish. There's a rustic feel and although busy it was buzzing rather than noisy. Can't fault the food or the service, it deserves a high rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in Toronto for the Film Festival and between films we had a great lunch at this Portuguese restaurant. We ordered seafood and it was very fresh and well prepared. The restaurant feels
expensive with good linens and attentive, professional service. The prices were surprisingly reasonable.
Not 'dead cheap" but well priced. We ordered an appetizer of grilled fresh sardines, a soup, and two of the house specialties, a Cataplana (seafood stew) that had a lot of fresh seafood and would have been enough to share. It comes steaming in the traditional cataplana copper pot. We also had the grilled octopus which was fork tender and delicious. We were too full for dessert. Of all the restaurants we tried in Toronto this was
the most pleasant experience and the food was tops. We recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Well prepared, but not very interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found the food at Adega prepared expertly and to reflect the Portuguese cuisine. Unfortunately Portuguese cuisine is not very interesting. Our fish was cooked perfectly, still very moist, and the accompanying vegetables were not over done. The restaurant looks great too. But there is not a lot of seasoning in Portuguese cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An opportunity we don't often have”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My spouse is always looking for something interesting in seafood and I enjoy Portuguese wines - and where we live neither are particularly accessible. When we were reviewing restaurant options in the magazines at the hotel this restaurant looked very interesting. We did a lookup on tripadvisor and saw that it was one of the highest rated in Toronto which of itself suggests it to be a good choice.

Net, we went and had a lovely dinner. My spouse had the octopus and I had the seafood stew. (I also had the goat cheese and beet salad - it was excellent; the cheese itself was very smooth and buttery for goat cheese.) For the entrees, both were very attractively presented and done very well. Her octopus was particularly creatively displayed. The seafood was well done and tasty and in great quantity. If we went again we might well split the seafood stew and have more than plenty.

The wine list is almost exclusively portugese and, relative to other places we went to in Toronto, could get expensive. I asked the waiter for a suggestion from the Duero wines in the moderate category and he suggested one of the lower priced bottles that he felt was a good value. It was very nice indeed.

Service was excellent overall and the decor, to us, was attractive as well. All in all, if we are in Toronto again in the same area, it's likely we'll be back at Adega.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega also viewed

 

Been to Adega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.