We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adega

Adega
33 Elm St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1H1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416.977.4338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Adega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Yonge and Dundas
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were in Toronto for the Film Festival and between films we had a great lunch at this Portuguese restaurant. We ordered seafood and it was very fresh and well prepared. The restaurant feels
expensive with good linens and attentive, professional service. The prices were surprisingly reasonable.
Not 'dead cheap" but well priced. We ordered an appetizer of grilled fresh sardines, a soup, and two of the house specialties, a Cataplana (seafood stew) that had a lot of fresh seafood and would have been enough to share. It comes steaming in the traditional cataplana copper pot. We also had the grilled octopus which was fork tender and delicious. We were too full for dessert. Of all the restaurants we tried in Toronto this was
the most pleasant experience and the food was tops. We recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    79
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Well prepared, but not very interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found the food at Adega prepared expertly and to reflect the Portuguese cuisine. Unfortunately Portuguese cuisine is not very interesting. Our fish was cooked perfectly, still very moist, and the accompanying vegetables were not over done. The restaurant looks great too. But there is not a lot of seasoning in Portuguese cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An opportunity we don't often have”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My spouse is always looking for something interesting in seafood and I enjoy Portuguese wines - and where we live neither are particularly accessible. When we were reviewing restaurant options in the magazines at the hotel this restaurant looked very interesting. We did a lookup on tripadvisor and saw that it was one of the highest rated in Toronto which of itself suggests it to be a good choice.

Net, we went and had a lovely dinner. My spouse had the octopus and I had the seafood stew. (I also had the goat cheese and beet salad - it was excellent; the cheese itself was very smooth and buttery for goat cheese.) For the entrees, both were very attractively presented and done very well. Her octopus was particularly creatively displayed. The seafood was well done and tasty and in great quantity. If we went again we might well split the seafood stew and have more than plenty.

The wine list is almost exclusively portugese and, relative to other places we went to in Toronto, could get expensive. I asked the waiter for a suggestion from the Duero wines in the moderate category and he suggested one of the lower priced bottles that he felt was a good value. It was very nice indeed.

Service was excellent overall and the decor, to us, was attractive as well. All in all, if we are in Toronto again in the same area, it's likely we'll be back at Adega.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great grilled octopus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Delicious food in a nice atmosphere. I had the seafood and it was excellent. The servers are professional without being pretentous.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went here as an alternative to all the French food we've had in Canada.

The restaurant was pretty much empty on the Tuesday night we went there which probably caused the atmosphere score. Saying that, the place is decked out in a fairly general mid range Mediterranean restaurant.

The menu choices were nice and varied. After a previous bad experience with seafood (at the CN tower), my other half wanted to stick to meat and there was a reasonable choice there.

I stuck to piri piri prawns followed by octopus and it was pretty good to be honest. Nothing spectacular but good nonetheless.

My other half's chorizo followed by chicken was equally good.

Not somewhere to go out of your way for but OK.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adega also viewed

 

Been to Adega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.