We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - nice "touches" - attentive service..............” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wah Sing

Wah Sing
47 Baldwin St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (China Town)
416-599-8822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,347 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: China Town
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food - nice "touches" - attentive service..............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This restaurant is located on Baldwin near Beverly and had somehow escaped my radar till yesterday. The minute we entered the restaurant I sensed a somewhat unexpected 'refinement' : damask tablecloths, nice décor and pleasant background music ! enroute to our table we liked the look of the food on the tables we passed by ! Hot tea arrived at the table immediately in stainless steel thermoses - with really good quality tea of a good strength. For those of us who dine out and often at our neighborhood Chinese restaurants this is something we rarely see and we so appreciated it. We ordered 4 items to share and the food was so good that - for once ! - we actually finished everything and not because the portions were skimpy. The spicy shrimps were plump and very lightly "coated" - no grease at all. The filet mignon sizzler was tender and the dark sauce very intense and flavourful. The Cantonese noodles were particularly good with generous amounts of ingredients. The Yang Zhou fried rice was my least favorite as I found the rice a bit "hard" and greasy - I prefer my 'other' Chinese restaurant for this particular dish ! We also appreciated that one can still get a glass of house wine here for a reasonable price - no longer the case at our other Chinese restaurants in this area. More nice touches rounded off this excellent experience : a large dish of orange segments and fortune cookies came to the table with the bill-along with individually wrapped warmed up disposable finger towels ! We decided after the fact to have a dessert and chose - with difficulty - between 6 different sherbets served in their own real fruit shells......I knew these would be good as they used to be on restaurant menus years ago and then seemed to disappear. We will definitely be back. The prices are about 15-20 % higher than what we usually see at Chinese restaurants in the area but our bill for 4 with tax - before tip - came to $103..........not exactly unreasonable for good food served up with nice touches that make for a nice place to bring guests !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Special Lobster?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

So this was our first stop after being in a car for 10 hours with traffic from NYC. So at this point I think anything would have tasted like it was cooked by Alain Ducasse himself. We of course ordered the 2 lobsters for $29.99 special eagerly anticipating the lobster goodness. Much to our disappointment the lobsters were obviously not fresh and way too rubbery. Some parts of the tail were almost like shredded pulled pork. How does lobster get that way? Sauce itself was ok but I understand now why it was swimming in sauce. Unfortunately not even that could mask the lackluster lobster. I guess you get what you pay for. So if you like fresh lobsters you can skip this dish. The chinese greens and squid dish we had were ok but when the hero of the dinner should be the lobster it becomes an after thought.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really oily food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband had a hankering for Chinese food so we went to Wah Sing. Perhaps we should have ordered lobsters but as it happened we had spring/egg rolls, beef with flat noodles and black bean sauce, bok choy with mushrooms, and lemon chicken. The lemon chicken was reasonably good but the rest were so greasy we felt queasy! We left 3/4 of the bok choy and beef dishes and did not take them home. All in all it was the worst Chinese food we had had in recent memory.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lobster Love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tucked into the south side of charming Baldwin Village, Wah Sing has flourished for decades. It has always been known for the Lobster "Two for One" special. The lobster comes prepared two ways, in orange and ginger sauce or in black bean sauce, This restaurant looks like it has been spruced up. Tables have crisp white cloths. Diners are greeted with steaming thermos pots of delicate tea. In the past we always enjoyed a variety of menu offerings, soups, beef, chicken and vegetable dishes, but last evening, we focused on the lobster, for which Wah Sing is noted.
I always promise myself I will eat slowly and yet accumulate more shells to discard then my dining companion. I took a photo to prove it. My shells are in the foreground.
It did not seem possible, but it was true. The lobster which was always outstanding was better than ever. It takes a long time to eat so allows for plenty of conversation. Service was prompt, and polite and the price fair. Our faultless meal was capped with a plate of orange sections, a hot towel for cleanup and the traditional fortune cookies. Lobster at Wah Sing is good fortune in itself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“2 for 1 Lobster special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You have to try the Lobster in maggi sauce - so delicious! I also had the fried rice with soft shell crab which was well worth it. You may think fried rice is fried rice and I've had many, but this was really good. It's a casual, chinese, roll up your sleeves and eat place for good food. The other table had crab which looked very good also. Very limited parking in the area, a few spots available in the back if you get there early. Service was friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wah Sing also viewed

 

Been to Wah Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wah Sing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.