We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old School Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verona Bar & Grill

Verona Bar & Grill
335 King St W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 593-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #525 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
toronto,
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Old School Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The restaurant is a bit conservative, not the modern Italian eateries some may be looking for, but has great service, great food and decent prices. We were seated promptly on a busy evening after walking in off the street. The manager was close by keeping a close eye on things.

I have eaten here several times and it is always consistent and delicious. I had a steak and garlic mash...very traditional meal but well presented and delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    34
    30
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Food was fabulous. I had the mussels and the broth was like a delicious soup. The New York strip was cooked to perfection. The service was choreographed :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at Verona. Sat outside and watched the world go by while enjoying a great meal. The mussels were amazing! Overall was a great place, womens washroom was leaking water everywhere, witch made for a very slippery tile floor and dirty floor. Other than that food was great and would recommend it for a nice night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant shame about the hygiene”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a nice evening with friends until I noticed one of the staff leave the washroom without washing their hands. Although the food was very good, the service was un-attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“warm atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our second visit with a small group of ladies and again the meal was delicious.
We were'nt rushed at all and had a leisurely dinner including wine and desert. The service was excellent.
The special was mustard crusted sole with fennel and it was done to perfection .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verona Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Verona Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verona Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.