We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great South Indian fare in Toronto's Little India” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Udupi Palace

Udupi Palace
1460 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416- 405-8189
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #726 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic Indian Vegetarian cuisine specialised in South Indian vegetarian, vegan, Jain cuisines
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“great South Indian fare in Toronto's Little India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Some friends of mine just got back from southern India and wanted to share a South Indian meal with us in Toronto, so it's off to Little India in Toronto, which is mostly buffets featuring northern India faves. It's a bit like coming into a gym and could do something to be a bit more intimate and a bit less cavernous. But the food is terrific, beautifully served and fresh-cooked. A really good range of choices too, especially good for vegetarians and vegans. The price is also good -- 30 for 2, with appetizers (but no booze). A really nice way to be introduced to what I consider the healthier cooking and ingredients of South India cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Could have been great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went twice. Am a fan of South Indian cuisine. The dosas here were a big disappointment. Large but overcooked. Sambar was dull. Aloo inside the dosas was almost chilly. Idli was gooey as opposed to solid, almost like glutinous rice. Saw the great reviews and decided to give it another try when they were less busy but if anything the food was worse and the coconut chutney was almost inedible on time two. I would not recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington ontario
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food not great decore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't go there for the ambiance, go there to enjoy authentic Indian cuisine, great food no matter what you order. True vegetarian fare. Service is great and everything comes to the table piping hot and tastey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“don't go for pretentious food or atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

the waiter greeted us warmly and with a great smile. we ordered a dosa and a thali, plus a rasam to start. first there was more than enough food for two of us, we left some. each dish had its own distinct flavour and was really good. we asked for a spicy rasam and it came with a large chili in it....but it was not overwhelming. the place started to fill up with families and couples, both east indian and mixed canadian families. the feeling is very authentic cafeteria, but for the price and service it was amazing. we are from montreal and wish we could have something like this in our city. be proud!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fiery hot vegetarian bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The atmosphere is school cafeteria meets carnival, but the service is great, the menu expansive and the dosas just amazing. We've been there many times, and love the Manchurian Idli (don't ask, tastes great) as well as the Paneer Masala dosa (Indian cheese and curry) and the Coimbatore Dosa (combination vegetables in curry). We always get yoghurt or raita with our meals as the food is HOT, but wonderfully so. The adult meals come with a thin sambhar and a coconut chutney. My daughter, 4, loves the Jam Dosa and the Ghee dosa. We weren't so fond of the Schezuan dosa, as it seemed to be nothing but raw coleslaw mix in a dosa. If you're feeling like something a little different, it's well worth the trip to Little India.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udupi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Udupi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udupi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.