We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for drinks and appetizers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivoli-Cafe & Club

Rivoli-Cafe & Club
334 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 596-1908
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,331 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for drinks and appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been going to the Riv since the mid 90's, great place to drink, people watch and to eat tasty wookie balls and spring roll appetizers, have also liked the Pad Thai over the years, went last week and had the mushroom burger and ribs-both were substandard, I asked if the mushroom burger was freshly made-it was but had absolutely zero flavour and dry, ribs were so-so, not sure if this was a bad one off experience or how these items are prepared habitually

I will still go to the Riv for drinks/apps but would be hesitant with these two main dishes

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a cool place to go. Great for people watching at lunch. And interesting goings on at night. The day I was there a gong show was advised for later in the evening.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The absolute BEST satay sauce ever made by man!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant a lot over the past 20 years and it's always great - right downtown on Queen, and if you go, the chicken satay with peanut dipping sauce is amazing - I think they put lemongrass in it somehow? Anyway it is the best I have ever had. Do yourself a favour and eat here - the Siam Wookie Balls and the edamame are great too. I have never been disappointed. The service is sometimes hit and miss but the food is really consistent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome menu, live music, comedy, djs, pool, even karaoke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I LOVE this place. I dream of their spring rolls (hot and cold), and really enjoy watching live music or comedy in the back room where they have had some pretty awesome acts in the past. If they had beds you could live here as they really do have everything you need from breakfast to late night snacks and everything in between. People watching on the patio is a summertime treat, while birthday parties in the pool hall upstairs can end in some pretty hilarious 'kick-*ss' karaoke. I often eat the same things over and over again there, but they do add new things to the menu regularly. It's a Toronto intitution for a very good reason. LOVE the Riv.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Roaming Toronto for a restaurant, Rivoli's name and setup was attracting enough to lure us in. It was a pleasure when the food turned out to be excellent. The spicy chicken sandwich was a great treat. The other 4 dishes were just as great. If you are in Toronto and have no idea where to eat, this would stack up there as a good choice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivoli-Cafe & Club also viewed

 

Been to Rivoli-Cafe & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivoli-Cafe & Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.