We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant excellance over decades” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scaramouche Restaurant

Scaramouche Restaurant
1 Benvenuto Pl, Toronto, Ontario M4V 2L1, Canada
+1 416-961-8011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scaramouche Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $51 - $64
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Edmund and Avenue Road (see map)
Description: Scaramouche has long been celebrated by customers and critics for its unwavering commitment to making each dining experience a memorable one. Chef/owner Keith Froggett's sophisticated cuisine is presented simply with care and attention to detail. The service underscores that philosophy: unobtrusive and respectful. The restaurant affords a stunning nighttime vista of the downtown Toronto skyline. These components and more make Scaramouche the singular destination it is. And the reason that the restaurant is consistently ranked as one of the city's best for more than three decades.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistant excellance over decades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We first visited this restaurant in the 1970s, used it often for years then, joined a club with very high standards and a personal touch and drifted away from Scaramouche and other high end establishments.

Recently friends invited me to join them at Scaramouche. They use Scaramouche regularly and, as regulars, received a personal greeting and above average courtesy. They asked for a special table but had not reserved it, were refused as the table was taken but were accommodated nicely at a compromise location.

I note that some reviews are critical of the "tone" of the restaurant. I agree that it is reserved and, with a Canadian tone, formal. I know one of the waiters from another restaurant I have used regularly. She is a true professional. I observed her studying the service and crowd and guiding the service. They are formal but highly professional in my opinion.The emphasis is on the food not folksy relations with the staff.

I am surprised and pleased at the very high standard of food service and preparation. It was simply flawless, if anything better that in years gone by.

As well, the wine list was superb, including very fairly priced excellent wines that were very "sleepers" i.e. well chosen but not famous. If one knows how to order there are superb choices there.

Scaramouche is pricey, very pricey. Only those who prize quality and care not about cost will enjoy it. But, if you have the budget, it is a fine as any restaurant I have visited in Canada.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    86
    35
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Toronto Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We’ve eaten at Scaramouche a number of times over the last 25 years. Always outstanding. The lovely view looking south over the Toronto skyline really adds to the special atmosphere. Service is perfect. The menu is always so interesting, portions are generous without being overwhelming and everything is always perfectly presented and executed. My husband and I each ordered seafood appetizers - oysters, black bass and something else seviche; and for entrees the prune, fois gras stuffed duck breast and venison medallions and left it up to the servers to choose appropriate wines by the glass for each of us for each course and the selections were spot on. Glad to see how busy the restaurant was even on a Tuesday night. Complementary valet parking so no parking issues. $300 for 3 course meal with wine and coffee including a generous tip. Tremendous value. Have never tried the pasta bar and definitely want to try that soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good food...rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I love french cuisine and I am quite familiar with the best french restaurants. Scaramouche's staff mistake the french elegance for arrogance and rudeness and excel at it. For instance, the reception person was very slow, saw us come in, yet continued to flip the papers in front of her slowly before looking at us and then not even say a word of greeting.
The food is good (a bit too salty for my taste but generally ok)...but the experience as a whole involves much more than the chef's ability. My expectations are quite high and I have zero tolerance for rudeness. That's why I will never be back at Scaramouche or recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I read so many outstanding reviews, as well as researching on Zagat and Toronto's best restaurants. Maybe it was due to that that my expectations were so high, and although I enjoyed the experience, it certainly doesn't fall into my "top 5". My husband is a huge foodie, and he agreed. It didn't meet his expectations either. Service is outstanding though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scaramouche No Joke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you like French cuisine and you're in Toronto, you must go to Scaramouche. The steak tartare first course is excellent as is the warm king crab. The halibut main course was outstanding, and the desserts were typically to die for. My Valrhone dark chocolate tart was too good to be true and went well with the wine we ordered. Service was outstanding as the wait staff were attentive without being intrusive. Very nice ambiance with a scenic view of Toronto (ask for a window seating), especially at night! Be prepared to pay at least $200 USD or more, but well worth the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scaramouche Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scaramouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scaramouche Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.