We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scaramouche Restaurant

Scaramouche Restaurant
1 Benvenuto Pl, Toronto, Ontario M4V 1L1, Canada
(416) 961-8011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scaramouche Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $51 - $100
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Edmund and Avenue Road (see map)
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our 2nd anniversary trip. That night there was a thunderstorm in Toronto, with lots of lightning, so the wide windows overlooking the sky, provided a very romantic scene for our dinner. The food was fantastic, the oyster really fresh, the octopus salad was delicious, and the partridge amazing.
We travel all over the world, and the food in this restaurants is in my top 5's. Also, I liked that the clientele is not your usual young and hip, but of a conservative, well dress, well mannered people.
Would love to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    78
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always great in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went to Scaramouche many years ago and returned again last week. It has not changed. The service is great, good view and excellent food. The atmosphere and clientele are conservative and a bit old school, but so am I.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely way to celebrate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I must say, I loved the experience starting with the complimentary valet service. I could not compete with the Lamborghini or the McLaren parked ahead of me, but nonetheless, giving my Hyundai's keys and not worry about parking was a great beginning.

The food was great and service very professional. We liked the view of the city of Toronto from the windows which made the experience nicer.

We had the sweet bread, spicy steak tartar, fillet Mignon and Lamb Chops. For dessert we had the crème brule.

Overall great experience. The seats are not so comfortable though...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very high standards, off-nights notwithstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We'd never had a disappointing experience in 25 years of occasional dining here, mostly in the more casual Pasta Bar, adjacent to the small lounge area. Last visit, at around 9 pm, was the first glimpse of imperfection. Kitchen disappointed with bland pasta special, and hum-drum steak-frites. Service seemed not fully engaged, for once. View from our window seat was spectacular, as always, but Scaramouche failed to deliver full value on this occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a hidden gem outside of the core of Toronto. My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday dinner and it was a romantic setting and superb food. He reserved a seat by the windows in advance (make sure to request it!)so that we had a great view during dinner. The waiter was professional, yet funny and attentive. I appreciated his advice on drinks, wine and food. The best part believe it or not was their famous coconut cream pie. It was honestly to die for - make sure you order it (I recommend sharing)! The price point is high but it is well worth it for the atmosphere, food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scaramouche Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Scaramouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scaramouche Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.