We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sassafraz

Sassafraz
100 Cumberland St, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 964-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sassafraz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #307 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Cross street: Bloor and Bay Streets
Transit: Bay Subway Station
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Delightful brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited recently and stopped for brunch . Lovely ambience in the restaurant it was a sunny day so patio area busy . Lovely brunch menu tasty food delivered promptly to the table by a friendly waitress

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We love to do brunch. Thanks so much for your comments! We're looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    101
    44
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Groupon people beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

From the minute we arrived at this restaurant, something was not quite right. Very strange reception...we were passed from one person to another and there seemed to be a problem finding our reservation or table, or something. We were finally seated and left seated for over ten minutes before our waiter found a minute to acknowledge us. And then the fun began! We had purchased a Groupon on the understanding it was for the regular menu. Indeed, we confirmed this with the hostess. But, voila! A cheesy little paper menu appeared with "Groupon Menu" on the front. How to feel special! Anyway, the menu was a random and shortened selection from the regular menu and not a very good sampling, at that. All the items were in the lower price range with only one exception in the appetizer and main course section.
We spoke to the Maître D' who was rigid and had no intention of even trying to make us happy....and it wouldn't have taken much. He gave us some garbled explanation about how they couldn't possibly offer the whole menu...why? I'm not sure. Something about it being "a deal" only because we were given a limited choice. Kind of a slanted view but
Hey! he's entitled....he's the Boss and we are only customers. He sort of blamed Groupon for not being clear but then also said Groupn would not have known the menu at the time of issue. So who is to blame? I guess us! He also said they were doing well with the Groupons. I imagine the Groupons were issued as a means of attracting new business. And by his accounts are working. But attracting isn't keeping. And he couldn't even keep us there for dinner! We left and will never return. Possibly, the restaurant feels Groupons and the people using them are somehow beneath the image they wish to project. It certainly seemed that way. The $69 paid for a Groupon three course dinner for two, is before an aperitif, before wine, before coffee, before a digestif, before tax, before tip. Surely, the customer spending this amount of money deserves more consideration.
Fortunately, there are plenty of restaurants in the hood happy to have us. We found one in less than five minutes and had a pleasant dinner. The next day we called Groupon and were refunded our money....with apologies.
Not to be totally negative, the room is lovely and the outdoor patio a delight in the warm weather. Too bad the attitude doesn't match.







"

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We appreciate your feedback about the Groupon promotion. During our partnership with Groupon, we mutually agree to specific menu offerings and terms in advance. As in any retail type promotion, restrictions are imposed in order to make the program feasible. To avoid misleading any of our guests, we are very careful in ensuring that the terms along with the complete menu offering are clearly listed in the promotion. Anyone interested in purchasing a voucher can view (or print for gifting purposes) the menu posted on the Groupon website at the point of purchase. Taking the time to review the menu offering prior to making the purchase would have avoided any confusion. We sincerely apologize that our management was not able to communicate this clearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The service was awesome. Anthony was our waiter and he was great. He was extremely friendly and even started talking to us about Italy, where we said we wanted to go in a few months.

The food was great, my husband and i really enjoyed it. I have to say the portions are perfect and the beet salad i had was great especially because i've never tried beets before. The wine's are a little over prices, but they do have a great variety.

The decor inside is also really nice, at first our reservations were for the sitting area outside, but we changed it to the dinning area, and i am glad we did. Its much more classy.

We did this with a groupon deal and although you have you're own menu, it's pretty much the same. Definitely will go back again, even without a groupon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We can't wait for your next visit! Thanks for the note and we'll be sure to share your compliments with Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Visit - Something different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I heard of a lot of different experiences about the restaurant and thought that we should give it a try. We went to Sassafraz for a couple’s night with my sister and her husband. We had a Groupon coupon which provided a fixed menu of a 3 course meal. All the choices looked delicious. The ambiance of the restaurant is really nice with live music and a lounge when you walk in. We were greeted nicely by the hosted and were excited to begin our evening.

It was nice; however, I felt because we used our Groupon our waitress wasn't really interested with serving our table to the best of her ability. I almost felt like we were ignored for most of the evening. There were a couple of insistences that made me feel this way.

Our waitress forgot a few key things and kept apologizing for her oversights -- like the bottle of wine we ordered at the beginning of the evening and didn’t receive it until 40 mins later, we had to ask for a basket of the complimentary bread which we didn't receive until after our wine arrive (we asked more than once), she forgot our steak knives and mixed up one of the orders. With that said, we were all understanding and tried to make the best of a unique situation (we didn't make her feel badly about her oversights).

The thing that really annoyed me was we were told that they were out of lamb. So we were forced to choose something else - we all ended up getting steak. Beside us was a couple who ordered their meal after us, who also asked for lamb -- guess what...they got it! I'm not sure what happened, however they were regular paying customers (not a Groupon customers), so we were a little hurt when we heard that they were given lamb and we were told there was none left.

Would I go back? Probably never using a Groupon. Like I said, it’s a nice place but our experience was a little different. Even though we used a Groupon, we still paid a pretty penny for our dinner and we expected to have a level of service with the experience of eating at a high-scaled restaurant. Like \I said at the beginning there are a lot of different experiences and review regarding Sassafraz, so the best advice is to go and try it for yourself!



Can't say the same about our waiter. Guy was gloomy and not very welcoming. Clearly overworked. Was making stupid jokes and we didn't feel comfortable. Soup was really good. I had steak as entrée (can't really call it...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We strive to over deliver on expectations and we'll be reviewing your comments with our team on where we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
1 review
“1st time visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Food and service was excellent. It was very busy, but our server ( James ) showed no signs of stress and was quite entertaining to make it a perfect evening for the 4 of us.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SassafrazToronto, Manager at Sassafraz, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for the love! We'll be sure to pass the praise on to James for being at the top of his game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafraz also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Sassafraz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sassafraz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.