We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster lovers' heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodney's Oyster House

Rodney's Oyster House
469 King St. West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1K4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-363-8105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Oyster lovers' heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I guess don't need to say too much about Rodney, the reputation speaks itself... The way they treat the food, the freshness of the oysters, the selections of other seafood... Gotta mention the place actually is quite casual, yet very lively... I feel the vibrancy yet at ease while dining in this Toronto downtown hangout... Don't forget, you almost have to make a reservation in order to secure any table, otherwise you will be disappointed not able to get in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    93
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food Teribble service !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Just visited a view hours ago . As I am in the industry myself I always appreciate other businesses .

Unfortunelly the service at Rodney,s oyster house is doing the food injustice . The service was not intrested in our business from the start and we were feeling not welcomed .

When we ordered our second order of oysters and it took well over 30 min we wanted to get the bill and go but we were totally ignored by our waitress , and even got angry looks ??

Never again ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The oysters are spectacular and I was very satisfied in the wine selection as well. The service was also amazing the night we were there. The atmosphere was fun and lively. I would highly recommend Rodney's for a great night out in T.O

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Oyster place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have been here numerous times when visiting Toronto and have yet to be disappointed. The oysters are always fresh, and the seafood is outstanding. It's a casual place with a very friendly staff. I suggest garb a stool at the bar, get the server to put a selection of oysters togther, get a white wine and dig in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rodney's Is "THE" Oyster House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rodney's is one of those rare restaurants where one can consider it the best and "signature of the city". My wife and I have eaten at many great restaurants and have craving favorites in certain cities. In Vancouver we think "Tojos" - best Japanese restaurant in the world. In Paris it is Joel Rubichon L'Atelier (though Paris has so many "WoW" restaurants only this place makes us reminisce about ridiculously good/memorable dining in Paris). In Chicago, we think of Gibson's (whole family rates it best steak house in the world - so above the next best steakhouse experience) as well as The Chinese restaurant in the Peninsula (by far the best upscale for Chinese). NY it is Blue Ribbon. Vegas is Spago. Stinking Rose in San Francisco. You get the drift. Rodney's sticks out as the restaurant as the place we would tell any friend visiting us in Toronto: "You have to go to Rodney's" (implying best oyster house in the world and a "signature of Toronto"). Secondary mentions would be Kaji (close to Tojos - and Tojos in VCR anyways) and Lee Garden (best Chinese supper place in the world - better than any of the many Chinese supper place in China/Hong Kong I've been to). My wife and I always prefer to sit at the bar as we enjoy watching the oysters being shucked while enjoying our meal. I love the periwinkles (too bad they are only around some of the time). And the quahogs with a great tasting broth (love dipping dark rye bread in it). and they have "birch beer", which is like root beer, but way nicer. We dine regularly at Rodney's, but mostly as a late night snack on weekends as a night out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Rodney's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodney's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.