We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio, poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penelope Restaurant

Penelope Restaurant
225 King Street West | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 351-9393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,651 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great patio, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The recent renovations look great, and the patio was lovely, however the food was absolutely awful - if you order a Greek salad, you'd probably be satisfied, but my grilled calamari was tasteless and wet and incredibly hard to chew - very dissatisfied! Will definitely not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault the food or the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here for a reasonable price. My Greek wife even thought the potatoes were better than her mothers! There is an outside and inside eating area, we sat inside which was nearly empty as most were outside. We got very attentive service from the one waiter who only had two tables to worry about.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Greek lunch in busy Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted a nice place to dine indoors on a hot Sunday, and this place fit the bill. Good food, gracious service, and good location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulav
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“This is the best meal we have had after 1 week in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the best way to spend our last night of our vacation. This is a Greek restaurant just a few blocks from the Hilton On Richmond Street where we are staying. One year ago today we were in Greece and we both loved the beer, Mythos. Tonight the waiter gace us the last Mythos they had in house, so not only did we eat authentic Greek food, we got to toast with our favorite beer. We ordered the veggie dip platter and the dips were each so delicious; the platter had feta cheese, tomoatoes, cucumbers, and lots of greek olives with plenty of pita bread. Then we shared a mousaka and it was delicious-everything tasted like the great restaurants where we had eaten in Greece. This was plenty of food for 2 people. Yanni, our waiter, is from Greece and he gave us the very best service we have had in Canada. He is amazing. It is a Thursday evening and the place was packed. The restaurant has a full bar, and white tablecloths. There were people dressed to the hilt, and then tourists like us in very casual clothing. The pricing was moderate for Toronto, but the value was much better than any meal we had in Cananda, including Montreal. If you like Greek food, you will love Penelope.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the only place I would go to for Lamb Chops. I always keep going back to this place since all the food that I have tried so far are excellent. The servers are so efficient. The place is always clean. The price is very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penelope Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Penelope Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penelope Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.