We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like salt and more salt then go here, and no respect for long term clients.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Court Restaurant

Pearl Court Restaurant
633 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(416) 463-8778
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,353 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“If you like salt and more salt then go here, and no respect for long term clients.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Been going to this place for 25 years and lately find some dishes very very salty! What should be voted is thy do not care about customer satisfaction! Twice I ordered the same dish, complained about the salt and they did not give a damn, made us pay the bill and so we left,never to return again after many years of patronage.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Classic Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Is this a pretty place? No. Is it cutting edge foodie heaven? No. Is it great dim sum served by friendly people for a great price. Absolutely!

Tucked in along the gritty Gerrard strip east of Broadview, this long-standing joint knows how to serve up the dim sum. The shrimp and scallion dumplings come steamed or fried, The fried version manages to be slightly crispy on the outside and silky on the inside. Ditto the scallop dumplings and the har gow. The soups are nice and the tea is properly steeped.

Service is brisk and friendly. The toilets leave little to the imagination, but they are far from the worst in this neighbourhood.

Best of all, four of us ate to beyond capacity for about $65 including tax and tip. This is a perfect spot for a Friday dinner, Sunday family brunch and hangover remediation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Locals eat here - great endorsement!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Menu and clientele are both predominantly Chinese - which is a great endorsement! I've eaten here numerous times and everything is always delicious - relatively cheap and consistently good for dinner - dim sum is a bit expensive and you can get it cheaper elsewhere if that's what you're after.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

food was excellent, so was the service. We had food for 3 adults and enough left over for the same the next day for under $60, thats a deal. Best tasting Chinese food I have ever had. Outside looks rough but inside is clean and bright, clean washrooms also. A+++

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Whenever we're in Toronto, we make a habit of going to Pearl Court for a great Chinese food fix. It never fails to disappoint, though the first time we went, I had a reaction to MSG. I've never had that experience repeated and I wonder if they stopped using it. Anyway, it's delicious and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Court Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Pearl Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Court Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.