We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh oysters galore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Boy

Oyster Boy
872 Queen St. W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-534-3432
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mississauga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh oysters galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Despite 'the worse than what you would believe' commute from the burbs to the big city, our family toughs it out to get its fresh oysters-on-the-half shell fix on a regular basis! You absolutely need reservations as this friendly and informal little restaurant specializing in the freshest oysters around is packed with oyster lovers devouring them by the dozen. The oyster shucker is busy all evening! We always seem to find a parking spot on the street which is teeming with cyclists, tramways and original little shops and art galleries. It is only a stone's throw from Trinity Bellwoods Park. The wait staff give you a warm welcome as soon as you enter and they are quick to take your order. A large blackboard over the bar area lists the provenance of about 6-8 different types of oysters (on the eastern and western seaboards), and with the help of the very knowledgeable wait staff you will get exactly what you want. The oysters are competitive in price and for a special occasion (of which I find many), we find it is really worth the splurge. You can have several varieties on your oyster dish which are accompanied by three sauces, and finely grated fresh horseradish which will set your sinuses ablaze if you take too hefty a dollop. There are a nice variety of white wines which always seem to go well with our selections! The shoe string fries with the jalapeno mayo are addictive! The Caesar salad, green vegetable and mushroom sides, steamed clams and clam chowder which we order between us, never disappoint. We always tend to order the same dishes though there are plenty of other seafood and fish offerings. I can't comment on the desserts, never having had one. But I am sure they must be delicious. Our last visit was in May and we will probably find another special occasion soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you close your eyes you could hear the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Well what can I say. The food was as fresh as being right in Boston Harbor! My husband and I wanted Oysters and looked up the Oyster Boy and others. This restaurant had the top rating so we thought we would give it a try. First the service was by far better than what we thought. Many restaurants servers will focus on just their own table.. this place the whole group of them were attentive to all patrons. Now the food.. wow unbelievable delicious delectable can I go on! it was nice that we were given a variety of types of oysters try so we would know what we liked. We also had the mussels.. very nice. Looking around the lobster is what we will try next time. Best seafood in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“They take care of their oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Not too many places take really good pride when serving oysters. I felt like seafood last night, my last night in Toronto before I headed home. Perfectly shucked oysters at the bar in front of you. Only thing was thought it was closer to the downtown core. So far the best oyster place in Toronto I stumbled on. No attitude, just great fresh seafood. Started off with a dozen oysters, not one piece of shell. The meat was perfectly intact. Followed it up with steamed clams, very simple but perfectly cooked. Followed it up with their fish n chips. A must try in Toronto. Worth the trip juse a little west of the main core. Definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real thing ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like local flavor and flair then visit "Oyster Boy" on Queen Street West in the Trinity-Bellwoods neighborhood. A great local diner specializing in ... you guessed it "Oysters" and other great sea fair, and I would order the fish tacos! Great vibe with mainly locals, reasonably priced, and in one of the most walkable and trendy neighborhoods in TO ... Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good oyster bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to two oyster bars while in Toronto this week and by far this was top notch. I like it to the atmosphere and quality of The Oyster House in Baltimore(Fells Point) and Neptune in Nob Hill Boston. It was a little difficult to find, had to stop and ask for directions(it is past the park next to the tailor). From the moment we walked in we felt very welcomed. The place is not pretentious. it is small, narrow but very clean and bright, modern.Had a good selection of beer as well. Its just a wonderful atmosphere along with awesome oysters. If you want oysters while in Toronto this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Boy also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Boy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.