We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding ceremony and reception Oct 5,2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ORO Restaurant

ORO Restaurant
45 Elm St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1H1, Canada
+1 416-597-0155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $21 - $64
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bay Street
Transit: ORO is located just north of Dundas station on the Yonge subway line.
Description: Each day ORO's creative team pushes the boundaries of the culinary imagination with appetizers, entrees and desserts prepared neo-Italian style but subtly accented with hints from around the world. Add to this an award-winning wine list and it's no surprise ORO was selected one of Canada's Top 10 Restaurants by the Globe and Mail soon after its 1997 opening.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wedding ceremony and reception Oct 5,2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We celebrated our wedding ceremony and reception here at ORO. We used the upstairs Loft and The Gallery. Both Domineco and Connie were great, they were very accommodating. We were not restricted with what we could serve to our guests and even met with the chef to discuss menu choices, allergies, and our wedding cake... Yes they took care of that too! The cake was more than what we expected as it was even more beautiful than the photo we had given them and our guests loved it. We choose ORO because of its beautiful ambiance, delicious food, and more importantly the great service. We were not disappointed as many of our guests commented on how great the entire evening was. THANK YOU Domineco, Connie and Vito for making our wedding memorable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dear Oro: Time to step it up a notch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Oro is a nice place. It feels fancy, but not over-the-top. The menu is fine, but overall the flavours and selection, like the staff, have lost their excitement over the years. It is not as crowded as it used to be. The wait staff have been there a while and are business-like (not a lot of passion). The quality of the food is just average. Most of the desserts are over-priced for what you get. Who still serves cantaloupe and melon besides Denny's? If you want excitement, passion, flare, an edgy menu and good service, there are a huge list of other places to try. sorry Oro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An escape in downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Smack dab in the middle of downtown, Oro Restaurant is a relaxing dining escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Great atmosphere and service. Food is scrumptious! Perfect for a romantic evening, a nice dinner with friends and even a family dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I have been several times to celebrate special occasions and recently to meet up with friends - amazing food and wine selection - atmosphere is cozy - especially in the winter by the fire place! Best part is the service - no one ever forgets that you've been there before - and they make you feel right at home - only I could never cook this good!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Business Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a dinner meeting at Oro at it was fantastic. The food was delicious, the wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable, happy to make suggestions and explain the different dishes on the menu and the room was beautiful. A wonderful place that looked after us with extraordinary care.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ORO Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to ORO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ORO Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.