We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ORO Restaurant

ORO Restaurant
45 Elm St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1H1, Canada
+1 416-597-0155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $22 - $64
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bay Street
Transit: ORO is located just north of Dundas station on the Yonge subway line.
Description: Each day ORO's creative team pushes the boundaries of the culinary imagination with appetizers, entrees and desserts prepared neo-Italian style but subtly accented with hints from around the world. Add to this an award-winning wine list and it's no surprise ORO was selected one of Canada's Top 10 Restaurants by the Globe and Mail soon after its 1997 opening.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great service, perfect food choices and quality. Went for a great business lunch, but I imagine dinner is equally wonderful. Will be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico C, Owner at ORO Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review! We look forward to seeing you again. Connie + Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    27
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Mess Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was excellent. Better than expected. My friend and I each ordered something usual and my wife ordered the rabbit. When the food was brought, none was brought for my wife. She was told it would be 3 minutes but it turned out to be more like 30 minutes later (waiter had forgotten to place her order). The restaurant did the right thing by apologizing and then comping my wife's dinner. The food is very tasty and priced well so give it a try and don't let my wife's experience deter you from what should be a very pleasant experience

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico C, Owner at ORO Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for constructive feedback and fair review. We appreciate your compliments, and apologize once again that the service was not up to our usual standards. Unfortunately, errors occur from time to time, as we are all human. Hope your stay in Toronto was enjoyable, and we hope to see you again soon. Connie + Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Love that wood burning fire place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and husband went to Oro one Saturday evening at 7:30. We made a reservation using there wbsite online. When we arrived the place was just about empty which at first made me a little nervous. Alas, it started to fill up shortly after 8.

Here is me breakdown of our experience at Oro.

Atmosphere:
When we walked into the restaurant the first thing we noticed was the smell. They have a wood burning fireplace in one corner that smells so inviting. My husband said he would go back, just for the smell! The place has large windows at the front that lets in natural light, but the place was romantically lite which was how I like it. They have a selection of booths and tables to sit at. We choose a cozy two person booth in the center of the restaurant.

Food:
We started by ordering some sparkling water and ordered a bottle of red wine from the servers suggestion. Normally we wouldn’t have went for the flavors of this particular wine, but he did not lead us astray. It was very good. There wine prices were also very reasonable, I believe starting at about $35, many at around $50 and then up from there. They then served us bread with a olive oil infused with garlic cloves.
We ordered two appetizers to share. First was the Antipasto Plate. It contained three types of meet, some pickled carrots, bread and three sauces, it was quite good. We also ordered there fried calamari. It was one of the best fried calamari I have tasted. The batter was almost like beer batter, not crusty, very light. The calamari tasted very fresh. It was drizzled in a sauce that went well with it.
For our mains I ordered the Seafood Mixed Platter. It changes daily, this day it contained shrimp which where large and grilled perfectly, a scallop and a piece of white fish that was also really good. I don’t normally eat fish skin, but I did on this as it was crispy and flavorful. It came with some veggies and risotto. The risotto was just ok, but I was full enough from the app and seafood I didn’t need it. My Husband ordered the Carbonara (servers suggestion) and he really enjoyed it. The bacon flavor went well with the sauce.
For desert we ordered the Chocolate cake to share. It was just ok. It was lighter then I like as I like dense cake. Still good but not my favorite.
Service:
The service was excellent. We had a few different servers throughout the evening both having no issue suggesting or offering advice on the menu.

Overall, a good night, and another Elm Street Fav. I will definitely return and recommend to anyone looking for a nice evening out with good food that won’t blow the bank. I would give it 4.75 Stars!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico C, Owner at ORO Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for a thoughtful review! We appreciate your comments, and are pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Many diners come early, and leave by 7:30 to attend the theatre, so this can be a transitional time at ORO. Hope to see you again soon, and please spread the word! Connie + Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top notch food, outstanding atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This restaurant is a delight. A short and sophisticated menu with enough options to keep you coming back. I was there for a business dinner, and the food was outstanding. A mixed seafood platter was exquisite. I have a thing about shrimps - typically they are overcooked. Sometimes they are undercooked. The point of perfection - cooked through, but still tender and juicy and ready to burst - is so rare as to be non-existent. But here they hit that sweet spot, and I would be happy to return just for that. Everyone at the table was impressed with their meal. Portions are right-sized - neither over large plates that leave you bloated and in pain, nor artistically decorative concoctions that would leave me starving in 20 minutes. Perfect for a leasurly dinner with room for desert.

Service was excellent. Attentive, quick with a joke, it was perfect to keep a business dinner from getting stuffy.

Decor was elegant - this would be a perfect date restaurant, and I would love to bring my partner here. I saw a lot of happy couples.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico C, Owner at ORO Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We certainly can't provide this exquisite combination of cuisine and service without our amazing staff and culinary team, so we will certainly pass along your thoughtful and well-written review. Hope to see you again soon! Connie + Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oro is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a get together on Friday with a group I had not seen for over a year. The choice of restaurant was perfect. Great food, service and ambience. Wonderful company made this a perfect evening. Love Oro!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico C, Owner at ORO Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you! We're so pleased you made us your venue of choice for your special gathering. Spread the word, and hope to see you again soon at ORO! Domenico + Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ORO Restaurant also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to ORO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ORO Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.