We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Yorke Fish & Chips

Olde Yorke Fish & Chips
96 Laird Dr. | East York, Toronto, Ontario out of the universe, Canada
(416) 696-9670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: British, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I am super picky about my fish and chips. They have to have fresh, firm, juicy fish, a thick crunchy crust and have to be TASTY! The French fries must be crispy and cooked in good oil, the coleslaw a crisp, light accompaniment and the tartar light and sweet. Holy smokes - this place wins as best hands down!!! I am completely thrilled!! The place is a neighborhood hotspot, very busy but has a quick turn around. You can tell it's full of locals but all of the reviews (the reason I go) were terrific and they totally deserved it. I'm definitely coming back each trip to Toronto!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    28
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was this big!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Without a doubt, the best fish and chips I have ever had. It is a bit out of the way from downtown but well worth it for it's friendly service and British pub atmosphere or outdoor sunroom. The halibut and haddock are your choice but the fresh light crispy batter is theirs! The deserts have a few hidden surprises, if you have any room left. This is not just any old fish story.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My new standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Delicious. Crispy and delicious goodness.

The server was a bit slow but very friendly and it was pretty busy. She dealt with a whiny kid at the next table with expertise though the server couldn't have been more than 2!

They have a nice covered patio with ceiling fans to keep the air moving. I love that they use lemons with cloves stuck in them to keep the mosquitos away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Reminds me of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Olde Yorke is my favorite fish and chip restaurant in Toronto. The food is really good and being English myself, I can vouch for their claim of authenticity (ie: real English style fish and chips).

If this review was on the food alone, I would be happy to give the restaurant 5 stars. I eat here at least twice a month and enjoy treating my friends to dinner here and seeing how much they enjoy an authentic British experience. But.... there is some minor areas that detract from the overall experience.

First, the main dinning room has definitely seen better days and is about 20 years overdue for a renovation. the carpet is tatty and while not what I would call dirty, it would be misleading to call it clean.

Second, like many restaurants, they don't actually clean their tables, just wipe them with an old rag and cold water leaving them sticky and sometimes smelly (when the rag has been used too much).

Third, in an effort to squeeze more hungry people into this popular restaurant, and exasperated by the unfortunate design of the dining room, you will invariably end up too close to other customers. This gives the unfortunate result of a 'fast-food' type atmosphere and does not make you want to stay for one of their lovely desserts and (not too lovely) coffee.

Fourth, and perhaps the worst part of this restaurant, is the lack of air-conditioning, I suspect that they do actually have it, it just doesn't seem to work very well. and within a very short time of each visit everyone will end up sweating (even in winter).. so don't get too dressed up, you will be too uncomfortable. I have often had to go and stand outside for awhile half way through my meal to cool down a little... yes, its always cooler outside.

Fifth, like almost every English restaurant that I have ever been to (including the ones back home) there seems to be a problem with flies. Perhaps calling it a 'problem' is overstating it a little, but in my book one fly is too many and it really annoys me when you have to wave them away from your food. I know it is almost impossible to not have any flies at all, but why don't they try putting screens on the windows and installing one of those fly zapper things... perhaps they feel this would take away too much from the English 'feel.'

Besides these small points, and if you think that the things I have listed will not bother you too much, you will have a great dining experience. Remember, even though I have some reservations and criticisms, I still keep going back.... I cant stay away from the place.. the food is just too good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a great "catch"!! Happened into this restaurant on the advice of a family member who lives in the neighbourhood. Our party all ordered the fish and chips and found the fish (cod) to be fresh and flaky with batter being very crisp and not at all greasy. The fries were as you would expect homemade and crispy.Upon arrival we were seated at the bar while a table was being prepared on the outdoor patio for our party of three. Our server was very attentive even though we arrived close to closing time she never made us feel rushed. This joint was hopping busy for a weeknight.Would highly recommend this if you love fish & chips. Only downside is they close early 9:00.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Yorke Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Olde Yorke Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Yorke Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.