We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitress needed to be fired” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill

Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill
221 Carlingview Dr., Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E8, Canada (Formerly Mr. Greek Mediterranean Grill)
(416) 675-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,014 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waitress needed to be fired”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Sat at the bar and ordered a meal and beer, our waitress had her friends sitting at the bar drinking to excess. We ordered gyros thinking they came on a pita, it was a platter, we asked for a gyro again the waitress argued with us saying "just to let you know this is what you ordered" in a snarky voice, last time I checked waitresses are suppose to try and fix a problem. She brought our plates back again and it was the same thing we sent back, ha god we gave up. We had our meal listening to the girls next to us talking about raunchy stuff, loaded off the booze the waitress gave them. The food was crap, tasted like it was sitting under a heat lamp for a couple hours. When we got our bill we paid, the next day when we checked our receipt the waitress had charged us for the meals that got sent back, Good location near the airport makes them think they can run a business however they want.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGreekCarlingview, Owner at Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello Sir,

Thank you for visiting us and for your review, please do let us know how we can improve and increase our customer service experience. We would like to know the waiter who was serving you on this day and I promise you that we will make it worthwhile when you visit next time to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our flight got cancelled due to bad weather in Toronto and we ended up extending our stay at the carlingview hotel near the airport. It was very convenient to find this restaurant attached to the hotel. As the name says Mr.Greek is truly an authentic Greek restaurant.

Here are the items we tried
Saganaki with red wine - Excellent 5/5
Main course - Greek Lam Souvlaki - Excellent
My husband considers this as world famous
We probably spent more than an hour at this place, the service was quick, restaurant was clean, staff was friendly.

I personally enjoyed all the food and ambiance. if you are going there dont forget to try their mouth watering baklava.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Yes it is on site at the hotel Carlingview and is handy, but the food was very average, and our dinner was cold and with patrons standing in line next to our table awaiting take out.... didn`t like it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great taste and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had Chicken and Lamb Souvlaki.. both the dishes were pretty good. The owners of the restaurant was there during our visit. They were very friendly and polite. If you are going there try their Chicken Souvlaki. location wise this was very close to airport.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Horrible food and horrible manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a one night layover in Toronto and stAyed at the Carlingview hotel. Mr Greek is connected to the hotel. Ordered two chicken souvlaki dinners and it was terrible. Since when did Greek restaurants start pouring tomato sauce onto the potatoes and rice? Maybe they were old and had something to hide. Even the supposed Greek salad was just a green salad with an olive , slice of cucumber and slice of tomato. When we complained to the manager he told us we were going to have to pay for it anyways whether we ate it or not. He was so rude, we told him we were going to only pay for our drinks since we couldn't eat this terrible meal. After a bit of arguing he threw the menus down onto the bar and stormed away. We paid for our drinks and walked out into the parking lot to the sidewalk and headed left to a pub that is next door and had a great meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Greek Mediterranean Bar + Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.