We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Generous Serving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercatto

Mercatto
330 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5H2S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416.306.0467
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #856 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Not Very Generous Serving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the ravioli and tea. There were maybe 8 pieces of ravioli in a big bowl for $19.00 and the tea for $2.95 came in a big cup with the bag at the side. I would have preferred a pot of tea so I would not have to ask for another cup of hot water. When the waitress asked about the meal I said there wasn't much ravioli so she brought me 3 pieces of bread and didn't charge me for it which was good of her.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    49
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not for families”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I went here with our daughter. Our daughter has a stroller, so we needed a little room beside our table. They didn't have a 'suitable'table, and told us it would be a 20 minute wait. After waiting more than 20 minutes and watching other patrons being accommodated, it was obvious they didn't want anyone with young children. After some terse comments, we left.

In the past, I would simply describe this place as okay. After the treatment my wife and I received, I can only describe this place as terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Comfy, rustic, fresh Italian food. Nice salads, pizzas, fish, pasta. Really warm and cozy dine-in experience and easy take-out. I've dined here for lunch and dinner, and regularly get take-out when I'm in Toronto for business. I highly recommend it for business lunches. Nice wines also!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous with one exception...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First glance, you expect another Italian restaurant with a typical pizza and pasta menu but after phew minutes you realize the professionalism of the staff, the attention given to the creation of the menu with all homemade cold meet and cheese. We choose one appetizer (Carpaccio with the right level of horseradish), two different salads (arugula and greens) and two amazing meals (pizza and lambs pasta). The tomato sauce used on the pizza was fresh and not acid served with homemade salamis (mmm!). My pasta was just incredible. To finish this amazing dinner we ordered a homemade dessert which was supposed to be the best but out of luck, even at 7:30 PM, they were out of stock. On one hand that show all freshness of those dessert but one the other hand I’m still dreaming to this dessert that I will need to wait another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just walked by and had a terrific meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Mercatto was a last minute decision for lunch and the food was very good. My only complaint was it was really crowded and noisy during the lunch hour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercatto also viewed

 

Been to Mercatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercatto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.