We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch - worth seeking out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro

Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro
166 Bedford Rd, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (The Annex)
(416) 921-0995
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #410 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Annex
Cross street: Chicora Ave.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Top notch - worth seeking out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This French-style bistro is excellent. It serves very traditional French food cooked really well, and the service is friendly and efficient. Dishes included arctic char, salmon, duck confit, veal sweetbreads, calves liver, and a great range of salads such as Bleu d'Auvergne with baby spinach, walnuts and dried figs. Mmmmm! The wine was also very nice, and the prices not expensive. It's a tiny bit off the beaten track - it's on Bedford Rd just north of Dupont opposite the end of Pears Avenue - could be a bit easy to miss, but it's in the 'Designers' Walk' complex on the west side of Bedford Rd, and you can't miss that! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“the closest to a bistro you might find in France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This French style bistro is very welcoming with its pleasant atmosphere, good spirited staff and very good food ! The menu is quite extensive without being overwhelming and the specialties very tasty. From fish, to meat, to seafood, a variety of veggies and delicious desserts (don't miss the Clafoutis !), you are here for a good moment, both for your taste buds and for sharing company.
If you choose to go to Le Paradis on week-ends, you might want to make a reservation beforehand !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Value in Toronto !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hands down the only restaurant in Toronto where I can have an excellent meal, fantastic wine, attentive service and i didn't have to remortgage my house. Truly a gem. Thank you to the owners who obviously understand not only fine dining but also supply, demand and proper food costs to keep customers coming back for more !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A visitor to Toronto, my friend (a local) picked the restaurant. Nice restaurant, interesting menu, excellent preparation, and very inexpensive all things considered. Service was pretty average but hey, 4 out of 5 is pretty good! This place reminded me of a favourite tiny restaraunt in Brussels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Le Paradis is under rated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I don't understand why the average review for Le Paradis is only "very good". I have been going to Le Paradis for years and have never been disappointed. Staff have always been friendly and accomodating, I love the bistro atmosphere and think the great food offers great value. I too have eaten in many bistros in Paris and think Le Paradis is a great bistro for Toronto. The open kitchen is fun and exciting, and sitting/eating at the bar is an option worth considering! There are tables in the front for those without reservations (you still may have to wait!) and the main dining areas are only available with a reservation---any day of the week. The place is bustling all the time, so I don't understand why the ratings aren't higher.... everyone there seems to love it. Have calfs liver with frites. I love the liver at Le Paradis! I have been many times and look forward to many more visits!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Paradis Brasserie-Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.