We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Papillon on Front

Le Papillon on Front
69 Front Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-367-0303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $14 - $57
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Description: Le Papillon on Front is located in the heart of Old Town Toronto. Inside of a beautiful Old Town Toronto building with exposed brick walls and high lofty ceilings sits the beautiful venue for Le Papillon on Front. It's exposed brick is complemented well by the aged hardwood floor and perfectly soft lighting. The venue suggests a lovely mix of romance, comfort, and of course, the classic French bistro atmosphere that has followed Le Papillon to all of its locations. In the warmer months Le Papillon on Front even creeps its way onto Front street, giving a beautiful view of the Flatiron building as well as the CN tower in the distance. With a closed in patio adorned with wonderfully arranged planters you experience a private feel, even while sitting on the heart of Front Street.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I picked this place based on reviews and went for dinner with my friend and family.
French onion soup was excellent, house wine was nice ( not too cheap), our main courses were ok (fillet mignon was very nice; duck dish was over salted; lamb dish overdone; shrimp dish-ok. All dishes had the same side dishes and were boring), shared dessert was nice. (We travel a lot in Europe and its not the same for both quality and money value)
Service was very nice.
Meal was not memorable and I would suggest it as a good place for lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    77
    62
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious French cuisine in English Toronto !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have eaten at le Papillon years ago before they moved over a couple of doors to this lovely downtown Front Street locale. We were taken to our table, served aperitifs and explained the menu both politely and efficiently. The meal was excellent and service attentive. Wine list is interesting and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good French bistro fare at reasonable prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a good location to dine alfresco and people watch. Service is attentive without being obtrusive. Both my wife and I enjoyed the red snapper served in a pasty type dough. Vegetables were cooked al dente and complemented the moistness of the fish. Our friends enjoyed a galette and a steak. Both were prepared excellently. All of this accompanied by a delicious, reasonably priced pino gris. All in all a lovely way to spend an evening with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Charming French Bistro -- Gluten Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friend and I stopped at the Le Papillon on Front for brunch on Monday Sept 3 (holiday Monday). Service was a bit slow so we spent the wait on the patio people-watching. It's a charming French Bistro located near the St Lawrence Market and across from the flat iron building so there were a lot of interesting people to watch.

The food appeared to be a blend of Québécois & Southern French cuisine. Brunch started at $12+. My Oeufs Bénédictine (Eggs Benedict) was $12 and it was pretty good.

We were told they make their own sauces & they were willing to change around some of the menu options so my gluten-free friend was able to find a few things on the menu to choose from.

When I went inside I noticed the waiter serving bread to the customers but we didn't get this on the patio. I'm not sure why.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Classic Quebec Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent French and Quebec food with charming service and well-selected wines locate in the old city near St. Lawrence Market.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon on Front also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Le Papillon on Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Papillon on Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.